Social Science Librarian
Stephen (Social Sciences) Woods
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 208 Paterno Library, University Park
Phone: 814.865.0665
Bibliographies
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThis resource can provide you with background information as well as pros and cons for many public policy topics affecting society in the United States.
-
CQ Global Researcher This link opens in a new windowGreat for discovering broad policy issues from a global perspective.
-
Oxoford Bibliographies: SociologyEach article is created by scholars identifying important works, journals and issues. Sub-topics include: Crime and Social Justice, Cultural Sociology, Economic Sociology, Gender and Sexuality, Health Sociology, Political Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Research Methods, Social Psychology, Social Theory, Sociology of Religion, Sociology of the Family and Life Course.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowExplore other interdisciplinary subject areas
Encyclopedias & Methods
-
Evaluating Handbooks and Encyclopedias (from SOC 210N)Brief description of things to look for.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 2000 reference resources
-
Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new windowPlease note that PSU does not have licensed access to all of the Brill Online Reference Works. Those which we are able to access are marked with a green icon.
-
SAGE Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA gateway to those SAGE reference publications (encyclopedias and handbooks) Penn State has acquired.
-
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowProvides great articles for understanding research methodology. Use this resource to help you better understand methods used in research articles.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. New approved articles and new summaries are added to the encyclopedia on an ongoing basis.
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (First Edition) This link opens in a new windowfind peer-reviewed articles and publications by leading scientists and researchers in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
Blackwell Encyclopedia of SociologyAn essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics.
-
Sociology BasicsSelected articles previously published in: Survey of Social Science.
-
Encyclopedia of Sociologyonline via Gale Virtual Reference Library.
-
A Dictionary of Sociologyonline via Oxford Reference Online.
-
Dictionary of the Social Sciencesonline via Oxford Reference Online.
Handbooks
What are handbooks?
Often times a particular topic gains ongoing scholarly interest that attracts the interest of a publisher or research organization. Authors who are known in the particular field of study are often asked to contribute chapters or to provide editorial oversight for these types of publications. Handbooks can provide a useful overview of the topic and help you identify some of the "movers and shakers" in that particular area of research.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews This link opens in a new windowThe complete texts of the Oxford Handbooks in multiple disciplines and subject areas. These Handbooks contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
-
SAGE Reference Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to handbooks published by Sage Scroll down and select content type HANDBOOKS.