Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ORCID: Managing Your Identity

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.

What is ORCiD?

ORCiD provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. This means that it will be less likely that your name will be confused with another researcher with a similar name, ensuring that you get the credit you deserve for your work. Unlike your work email or identification number, your ORCiD ID follows you when you move. You can include your ORCiD identifier on your publications, grants and even your web page. You can also link your ORCiD ID to other services such as LinkedIn and Researcher ID.

How Do I Get Started?

If you already have an ORCiD ID you can link it to your PSU log-in using the steps below. If you don't have an ORCiD ID you can follow the steps below as well, but there will be one extra step.

***Note: To access the link from off-campus, you will need to VPN into the PSU network first. Here are some instructions on how to VPN into the PSU network.

  1. Visit http://orcid.identity.psu.edu
     
  2. Login to PSU WebAccess if you are not already (Two Factor Authentication if required)
     
  3. Click the "Visit ORCiD" link.
     the "Visit Orcid" link.
     
  4. You will need to sign into ORCiD using your ORCiD credentials one last time. This ensures that it is actually you making the link. 

    the online form used to link your ORCiD with your Penn State account
     
  5. If you don't have an ORCiD account you may create one now. You should check the "Allow this permission until I revoke it." box.
    the ORCiD login screen showing the "Allow permission to link accounts" option
     
  6. You should see a success message.
    the "you are linked" message screen
     
  7. You can now login to ORCiD using your Penn State credentials by choosing the "Institutional Account" link.
    Screenshot showing signing in the first time with your Penn State credentials
     
  8. If you have already done step 6 you will see Penn State as a suggested institutional sign in.
    ORCiD sign in page showing Penn State as a linked account

Now What?

Now that you have an ORCiD and it is linked with your PSU account you can start managing your identity and filling out your profile using the Libraries' Researcher's Metadata Database! The Libraries' Researcher's Metadata Database maintains an aggregation of publications, presentations, performances, advising, news articles, and bios for Penn State faculty from several major sources including Pure and Activity Insight.

 

  1. Log in to the Libraries’ Researcher’s Metadata Database https://metadata.libraries.psu.edu/profile/

  1. Connect the Metadata Database to your ORCID Account

  1. Authenticate to ORCID

  1. Authorize Metadata Database to write records to ORCID

  1. Add Organizations to ORCID (optional)

  1. Add Publications listed to ORCID

  1. View additions on. the ORCID.orgwebsite 

 

To add any content that is not in the Libraries' Researcher's Metadata Database,  go to the ORCiD website (https://orcid.org/) and fill in the content manually through your ORCiD profile.

In many cases, when you write a grant, or submit a manuscript for publication, linking to your ORCiD ID is built into the workflow.  For example, you can now populate your SciENcv biosketch is through an ORCID ID. You can also include it on your website and other creative achievements as you like. It is your ID!