The Academic Preservation Trust is a consortium of higher education institutions committed to providing both a preservation repository for digital content and collaboratively developed services related to that content.

Archive-It is a web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web, built at the Internet Archive.

Built for archives by archivists, ArchivesSpace is the open source archives information management application for managing and providing web access to archives, manuscripts and digital objects.

A collaboration of the world’s leading academic publishers and research libraries, CLOCKSS provides a sustainable dark archive to ensure the long-term survival of Web-based scholarly content.

CONTENTdm allows users to build, preserve, and showcase their digital collections on a personalized website, making them more discoverable to people around the world.

Crossref is a non-profit membership organization that makes research objects easy to find, cite, link, assess, and reuse.

DataCite is a leading global non-profit organization that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs.

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Fedora is a robust, modular, open source repository system for the management and dissemination of digital content.

The LOCKSS Program, based at Stanford Libraries, provides services and open-source technologies for high-confidence, resilient, secure digital preservation.

MetaArchive Cooperative is a digital preservation network created and hosted by and for memory organizations.

OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

Open Monograph Press is an all-in-one platform with the power to support modern book publishing for a global audience, from the Public Knowledge Project.

Our Research's free, open-source tools, including Unpaywall, serve millions of API requests every day, and are relied on by research funders, universities, researchers, and thousands of academic libraries worldwide. The Penn State Libraries support Our Research by subscribing to Unsub, a tool for analyzing journal packages.

Portico is a community-supported preservation archive that safeguards access to e-journals, e-books, and digital collections.

The Public Knowledge Project produces open source publishing platforms for scholarly journals, monographs, and preprints which are a leading force in the global embrace of open access to research for the benefit of all.

The Qualitative Data Repository is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences and related disciplines.

Samvera’s suite of repository software tools offers flexible and rich user interfaces tailored to distinct content types on top of a robust back end – giving adopters the best of both worlds.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. Annual Reviews' Subscribe to Open program converts gated access journals to open access using existing library relationships and subscription purchases.

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.

BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Penn State corresponding authors can publish open access through Cambridge University Press (CUP) at no additional charge, as part of the Libraries' 2024–2026 agreement with Cambridge. This applies to research articles, review articles, rapid communications, brief reports and case reports. A small number (less than 10%) of Cambridge journals do not have an open access option and are excluded from the agreement.

To take advantage of this deal, list your Penn State affiliation when you submit the article. There is no code to enter. Penn State corresponding authors publishing in eligible journals will automatically be offered free OA publishing. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble.

Demography is a platinum open access journal published by Duke University Press, supported by a community of libraries.

HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Penn State corresponding authors can publish open access in eligible IOP journals, including most of the gold and hybrid OA journals, with no additional charge. Excluded journals are American Astronomical Society (AAS) journals, some society titles that do not allow OA publishing, fully OA journals that do not charge OA fees, and translated and conference titles.

To take advantage of this deal, list your Penn State affiliation when you submit the article. There is no code to enter. Penn State corresponding authors publishing in eligible journals will automatically be offered free OA publishing for primary research articles accepted between January 1st, 2023, and December 31st, 2025. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble.

The Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (JAFSCD) is the world's only peer-reviewed, transdisciplinary journal focused solely on food and farming-related community development. It is a community-supported open access journal.

More than 30 university presses and hundreds of authors are part of Path to Open. The initial 100 books will be released on JSTOR in the fall of 2023, with an additional 300 titles being published annually during the term of the pilot, 2024-2026. Path to Open participating libraries will have access to the titles during the first three years, and thereafter all titles will be converted to open access, benefiting readers worldwide.

Knowledge Unlatched provides libraries and institutions worldwide with a central place to support OA collections and models from leading publishing houses and new OA initiatives. With their support Knowledge Unlatched transitions monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines from paywalled to OA content.

Lever Press is a scholarly press supported by more than 50 liberal arts institutions. Lever publishes peer-reviewed, born digital, open access monographs at no cost to authors or their academic institutions.

Penn State corresponding authors can publish open access in all hybrid and fully open access Microbiology Society journals at no additional charge, as part of Penn State’s participation in the 2023-2025 BTAA – Microbiology Society read & publish contract.

To take advantage of this deal, list your Penn State affiliation and Penn State email address when you submit your article. There is no code to enter. Penn State corresponding authors whose articles are accepted in a Microbiology Society journal between January 1st, 2023, and December 31st, 2025, will automatically be offered free OA publishing. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble.

Developed over two years with the generous support of the Arcadia Fund, MIT Press Direct to Open gives institutions the opportunity to harness collective action to support access to knowledge. As a participating library, Penn State will help open access to all new MIT Press scholarly monographs and edited collections from 2022.

The LYRASIS Open Access Community Investment Program (OACIP), in partnership with Transitioning Society Publications to OA (TSPOA), provides a community-driven framework that enables multiple stakeholders (including funders, institutions, libraries, authors, and editors) to efficiently and strategically evaluate and collectively fund open access content initiatives. Through OACIP, Penn State supports three journals: Algebraic Combinatorics, History of Media Studies, and Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communications.

Open Book Publishers is a non-profit independent open access publisher in the humanities and social sciences. All their monographs and textbooks are available to read online and download for free, with no Book Processing Charges (BPCs) for authors.

The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). It is funded by an international consortium of libraries.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.

Penn State has open access agreements with PLOS covering all PLOS journals for 2022-2023 and renewed for 2024. It has been renewed for select titles for 2025.

2022-2024 details: There is no fee for open access publication with PLOS if the corresponding author is at Penn State. For contributing authors, the agreement provides a 25% discount on the non-member fee that is levied by PLOS's "Community Action" titles (PLOS Biology, PLOS Medicine, and PLOS Sustainability and Transformation) when the corresponding author is not at a member institution such as Penn State.

2025 details: There is no fee for open access publication in the following PLOS journals if the corresponding author is at Penn State: PLOS Complex Systems, PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Digital Health, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLOS ONE, and PLOS Pathogens.

To take advantage of this deal, list your Penn State affiliation when you submit the article. There is no code to enter. Penn State corresponding authors publishing in eligible journals will automatically be offered free OA publishing. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble.

Punctum Books is a queer- and scholar-led, community-owned, and peer-reviewed open-access book publisher devoted to cultivating trans-disciplinary and genre-bending scholarly work that takes risks with form and style. The University Libraries support Punctum through its Supporting Library Membership Program.

Reveal Digital provides a library crowd-publishing model where libraries pool funds from their acquisitions budgets to develop open access curated primary source collections.

Penn State corresponding authors can publish open access through SAGE at no additional charge, as part of the Libraries' agreement with SAGE. This agreement applies to 98% of SAGE titles. The initial agreement ran from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023. It has been renewed through December 31, 2024.

To take advantage of this deal, list your Penn State affiliation when you submit the article. There is no code to enter. Penn State corresponding authors publishing in eligible journals will automatically be offered free OA publishing. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble.

SCOAP3 is a partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries and 3 intergovernmental organizations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors. The Libraries also support SCOAP3 for Books.

The SCOAP3 for Books initiative is a pilot that the SCOAP3 Governing Council established to leverage the strong network of the Collaboration and the relationships with scholarly publishing to transition key textbooks and monographs in particle physics and neighboring fields to open access.

Penn State corresponding authors can publish open access through Taylor and Francis at no additional charge, as part of the Libraries' 2024–2025 agreement with Taylor and Francis. This deal covers up to 210 articles per year. To take advantage of this deal, use your Penn State email address or identify Penn State as your institution (ideally both) when you submit the article. There is no code to enter. All current Taylor and Francis journals have an open access option and are therefore eligible for this deal. Penn State corresponding authors publishing in eligible journals will automatically be offered free OA publishing. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble. If you are a PSU affiliate and the corresponding author of an article published in a Taylor and Francis journal that was accepted January 1, 2024 or after, you can contact oalibrarianenquiries@tandf.co.uk to request retroactive conversion of your article to OA.

The University of Michigan Press aims to convert at least 75% of its monographs to open access by the end of 2023, without any author ever having to pay. The Press is working to build a sustainable model by achieving stable funding for this monograph program from three sources: annual funding from the library community, recurring funds from the U-M Provost, and other funder payments.

Penn State corresponding authors can publish open access in all Wiley publications (including Hindawi journals) at no additional charge, as part of Penn State’s participation in the 2023-2025 BTAA-Wiley read & publish contract.

To take advantage of this deal, list your Penn State affiliation and Penn State email address when you submit your article. There is no code to enter. Penn State corresponding authors whose articles are accepted in a Wiley hybrid journal or submitted to a Wiley Gold or Hindawi journal between January 1st, 2023, and December 31st, 2025, will automatically be offered free OA publishing. Contact openaccess@psu.edu if you have trouble.

The Data Curation Network (DCN) is a membership organization of institutional and non-profit data repositories whose vision is to advance open research by making data more ethical, reusable, and understandable.

The IIIF Consortium comprises more than 40 Founding Members across the globe who have signed the IIIF-C Memorandum of Understanding, committing to support the growth and adoption of IIIF (the International Image Interoperability Framework).

The LPC is an independent, community-led membership association of academic and research libraries and library consortia engaged in scholarly publishing.

LYRASIS is a non-profit membership organization whose mission is to support enduring access to the world’s shared academic, scientific and cultural heritage through leadership in open technologies, content services, digital solutions and collaboration with archives, libraries, museums and knowledge communities worldwide.

The Open Education Resource (OER) Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organisation that provides leadership, international networking and support for educators and educational institutions to achieve their objectives through Open Education. It leads the OERu and WikiEducator international collaborations.

OE Global members are organizations involved in developing, implementing and supporting open education. They come from all over the world and from across all education sectors. Penn State is a member.

The Open Education Network is an active community that promotes access, affordability, and student success through open education.

The Software Preservation Network (SPN) is a leading organization established to advance software preservation through collective action. SPN preserves software through its Affiliated Projects, Strategic Partnerships and member engagement across five core activity areas.

SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) works to enable the open sharing of research outputs and educational materials in order to democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery, and increase the return on our investment in research and education.