Library Guides: Mining and Mineral Resources: Finding Articles and Databases

Databases

Mineral by Innocent Coppieters, under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0.

Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
contains references to articles, conference papers, and other engineering resources, primarily in English, from 1884 to date.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
OneMine This link opens in a new window
A digital library of papers from mining engineering organizations.
This collection includes papers published by the major mining engineering societies from around the world, including the Society of Mining Engineers, AIME, SAIMM, TMS, and others. Coverage includes publications from the 1800s to date.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Contains information related to drilling, foundations, and other mining activities with a focus on those related to petroleum and natural gas.
OnePetro is a multi-society database of materials related to the oil and gas production industry. It includes materials related to rock mechanics, corrosion, and piplines as well as papers from the Offshore Technology Conference, World Petroleum Congress, and NACE Conferences. Penn State users have access to the full text of the Society of Petroleum Engineers technical papers and journals through this resource.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
An index to technical reports primarily from U.S. government agencies.
more...
NTRL is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Coverage: 1981-date.
This database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Coverage: 1981-date. Major subject areas included: Occupational Safety and Health Transportation; Environmental and Ecology; Food and Drugs; Pesticides; Natural Disasters; Civil Defense and Emergency Management; Fire Safety; Radiation Safety and Electrical Safety; Consumer and Recreation Safety; Ergonomics and Human Factors Diseases; Injuries and Trauma; Epidemiology and Public Health; Medical Safety; Toxicology; Civil and Structural Engineering.
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index on articles on environmental health and risk studies.
The database covers risk-related concerns ranging from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Coverage: 1990-date.
Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index to environmental publications, including works related to impacts of mining and mine remediation.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides abstracts and references to the environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1967 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of journals, books, etc. with citation data.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of journals, books, etc. with citation data.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. It includes citation data and tools that track, analyze and visualize research productivity and metrics.

NIOSHTIC-2
Index to publications on health and safety in the mining industry.
USBM Publications
Index to reports by the United States Bureau of Mines.

Other Indexes (non-Western resources)

Chaoxing Periodicals (Superstar 超星期刊) This link opens in a new window
Contains many articles from China on coal mining and other energy issues, with full text
Full-text searching of nearly 7000 Chinese journals on all subjects (humanities, social sciences, and sciences). Overwhelming majority of articles are full-text available in pdf format.

Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
Full-text materials in the natural sciences, public health, and social sciences, covering journals published Spain, Latin America and the Caribbean.

SciELO Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa from 2002 onward, with links to full text. It is a subset of the SciELO database, which contains other resources as well.
Provides scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
KCI - Korean Journal Database This link opens in a new window
Index to about 2,000 scholarly journals highlighting the best of Korean research. Links to full-text is included.
This collaboration with the National Research Foundation of Korea provides access to search and view critically important regional content with international impact. Get a comprehensive picture of the influencers and drivers of regional research: Approximately 2,000 scholarly journals (over 1,500 new to the Web of Science); mixture of open-access and subscription titles; has the same feature set as Web of Science source record databases; simplified discovery process for local information in a regional database; an easy search experience with local language interface; free of charge to existing Web of Science subscribers.
KISS = 한국의핵심지식정보자원 This link opens in a new window
KISS has from about1,800 scholarly journals from Korea.
KISS is a full-text database including over one million articles from about1,800 scholarly journals on linguistics, humanities, social science, natural science, engineering, agricultural science, marine science, and arts. It also contains 790 papers registered with the National Research Foundation of Korea.

Useful databases for works on the Mining Industry

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Database of business articles.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Database of business and trade articles.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed market reports by various industry sectors.
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.

Journals

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
This database provides impact factors for major mining journals.
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals by delivering quantifiable statistical information based on citation data, which helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community. It includes journal and category data.

Transactions of the AIME by American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers.
Call Number: TN1.A5
Publication Date: 1871-1986
The American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers is an umbrella organization for several societies including the Society of Mining Engineers, the Society of Petroleum Engineers, and others. The contents and contributions to the transactions series has changed over the years. For many years, even volumes contained papers from the Society of Mining Engineers; odd volumes held Society of Petroleum Engineers papers. Each volume contains selected papers from SME/SPE journals or conference proceedings. One confusing aspect of the Transactions is that the pagination was retained from the original place these articles appeared, leading to cases of duplicate page numbers. Without the table of contents, a user is lost. Use OneMine to locate specific papers.

Print Indexes

IMM abstracts by Institution of Mining and Metallurgy (Great Britain)
Call Number: TN1.I63
Publication Date: 1950-1996
Geomechanics abstracts by American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers.
Call Number: TA706.R53
Publication Date: 1970-1996
Coal abstracts by IEA Coal Research. Technical Information Service.
Call Number: TP325.C5143
Publication Date: 1977-1994
Mineral economics abstracts
Call Number: HD9506.A2M445
Publication Date: 1979-1981
Flotation Index
Call number: Z6679.F6D6
Publication date: 1928-1975

Index of mining engineering literature
2 volume work published in 1912.

IMMAGE by Institution of Mining and Metallurgy (Great Britain)
Call Number: TN1.I488
Publication Date: 2004
CDROM-based index to the mining literature, 1996-2004.

Penn State University Libraries

Mining and Mineral Resources

Librarian

Databases

Other Indexes (non-Western resources)

Useful databases for works on the Mining Industry

Journals

Print Indexes