provides important biographical essentials, including year and place of birth, rank, and family background, and examines the major accomplishments of each individual. Each entry includes a further reading list, a general bibliography, appendixes (ranks in the U.S. military and U.S. military decorations), subject indexes, and a general index.
analyzes the broad national, regional, cultural, and international contexts of peacekeeping. Special focus is placed on such contemporary issues as human rights, peacebuilding from below, conflict resolution theory, civilian peacekeeping, gender considerations, and women in peacekeeping. The coverage is enhanced by a chronology, charts, maps, a list of acronyms, an annotated bibliography, and references to key websites.
Provides a complete guide to world naval history. In-depth coverage of major sea battles, principal commanders, the evolution of the warship, weapons and strategy, tactics, and organization. International in scope, with a focus on the United States and Britain, the core of the book features descriptions of every notable naval engagement from 1571 onward. Brief, factual accounts and bibliographic sources on the background, main events, participants, and outcomes of each battle are meticulously cited throughout.
This three-volume A-to-Z survey spans the recorded history of land warfare around the globe - from the biblical Battle of Jericho to the Russo-Chechen conflict. It not only records the art and science of war as it has been practiced through the ages, but also presents major leaders, planners, generals, heroes and innovators. It tells how war has influenced society, how social constructs have shaped war, how legends were born and how mind-boggling military blunders came about.
- designed to make available to law students and military lawyers a succinct summary of military law and military justice
- an authoritative resource for those seeking an introduction to the unique aspects of military law and military justice
- traces the history and development of military law, its sources, the nature of military status, rights of members of the Armed Forces, and provides an exhaustive yet accessible review of the military justice process
Information on warfare from the classical period to the present day, including the social, political, technological, and economic background of major conflicts. There are biographical profiles on military leaders, theorists, and inventors, among other notable figures. The contributors also discuss weapons and equipment; wars, campaigns, and battles; strategy and tactics; espionage and propaganda; logistics and fortifications; and military life, literature, and medicine.
Addresses the conceptual and historical foundations, production, evolution, and future of grand strategy from a wide range of standpoints. The seven constituent sections present and critically examine the history of grand strategy, including beyond the West; sixdistinct theoretical approaches to the subject; the sources of grand strategy, ranging from geography and technology to domestic politics to individual psychology and culture; the instruments of grand strategy's implementation, from military to economic to covert action; political actors', includingnon-state actors', grand strategic choices; the debatable merits of grand strategy, relative to alternatives; and the future of grand strategy, in light of challenges ranging from political polarization to technological change to aging populations.
- explores the legislative, social, and policy aspects of America's major wars, rebellions, and insurrections.
- weaves together important primary source documents, informative biographies, and in-depth essays to provide coverage of the political antecedents, events, and consequences of America's wars, from the American Revolution to Operation Iraqi Freedom.
traces the transformation of battle tactics, from the prearranged set-piece encounters of the Napoleonic Wars to the massive naval landings and aerial bombardments of World War II, explains the scientific innovations that yielded the machine gun, the tank, and the atom bomb, and vividly renders the key victories that turned the tide of war, from Waterloo to Gettysburg and D-Day.
The focus of Weapons &Warfare is on the technical development of weapons, strategy, and tactics, allowing students of history, political science, and technology alike to gain a broad understanding of the technological and strategic advances made over time
Women serving in the military continues to be a controversial topic and a prime area for research. This encyclopedia is a useful compendium of American women in the military from colonial times to the Persian Gulf War.
A comprehensive treatment of the role of women in war, back to the first written history. Explores women as combatants, spies, auxiliaries, medics, supporters, opponents, and victims of war from antiquity to the present and on all continents.