Reference Sources
Encyclopedias and handbooks provide general information on a particular topic – and are a good place to start if you are unfamiliar with the topic. Handbooks also provide numerical tables, calculations, professional guidelines and best practices that are particularly useful in a given field.
Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications by Call Number: QA39.3.R67 2019ISBN: 9781260091991Publication Date: 2018-05-01The Foundations: Logic and Proofs -- Basic Structures: Sets, Functions, Sequences, Sums, Matrices -- Algorithms -- Number Theory and Cryptography -- Induction and Recursion -- Counting -- Discrete Probability -- Advanced Counting Techniques -- Relations -- Graphs -- Trees -- Boolean Algebra -- Modeling Computation.
Model Checking, Second Edition by Call Number: QA76.76.V47C553 2018ISBN: 9780262038836Publication Date: 2018-12-04An expanded and updated edition of a comprehensive presentation of the theory and practice of model checking, a technology that automates the analysis of complex systems.Model checking is a verification technology that provides an algorithmic means of determining whether an abstract model-representing, for example, a hardware or software design-satisfies a formal specification expressed as a temporal logic formula. If the specification is not satisfied, the method identifies a counterexample execution that shows the source of the problem.
Concise Guide to Formal Methods: Theory, Fundamentals and Industry Applications by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783319640211Publication Date: 2017This invaluable textbook/reference provides an easy-to-read guide to the fundamentals of formal methods, highlighting the rich applications of formal methods across a diverse range of areas of computing. Topics and features: Introduces the key concepts in software engineering, software reliability and dependability, formal methods, and discrete mathematics.
An Introduction to Practical Formal Methods Using Temporal Logic by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781119991472Publication Date: 2011-04-26The name "temporal logic" may sound complex and daunting; but while they describe potentially complex scenarios, temporal logics are often based on a few simple, and fundamental, concepts - highlighted in this book. An Introduction to Practical Formal Methods Using Temporal Logic provides an introduction to formal methods based on temporal logic, for developing and testing complex computational systems. These methods are supported by many well-developed tools, techniques and results that can be applied to a wide range of systems. Fisher begins with a full introduction to the subject, covering the basics of temporal logic and using a variety of examples, exercises and pointers to more advanced work to help clarify and illustrate the topics discussed.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, 5 Volume Set by Call Number: QA76.15.W545 2009ISBN: 9780471383932Publication Date: 2009-01-20Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, 5-volume set, includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education.
Dictionaries
In addition to providing definitions - dictionaries can be good for finding synonyms for different terms in computer science and computer engineering.
