Library Guides: Economics and Finance at Harrisburg: FIN 301

Overview

This guide provides access to the best resources for your assignments in FIN 301.

See the Financial Statements page for databases that provide financial statements going back many years, and stock information for public companies.

On the Wall Street Journal page, you can access resources that provide full-text coverage of WSJ articles.

If you have any questions about locating information for your projects throughout the semester, please do not hesitate to ask for help using my contact info in my profile box on the left.

Good luck!

Accessing the Wall Street Journal

In addition to your student subscription access to the WSJ (info available on your Canvas page), or the print copies available daily on the third floor of Olmsted, there are a few ways to access WSJ content through the libraries.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Access the daily text-only editions through ProQuest.

Resources for Financial Statements

Publicly traded companies must disclose required financial statements to investors and the general public, which means you can typically find this documentation on their general websites, or websites geared towards investors.

However, these websites can make it challenging to aggregate data, and sometimes, it is difficult to find.

The University Libraries subscribe to databases that aggregate this information in easy-to-access formats.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Access current or recent financial statements from public companies.
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.
MergentOnline (company information) This link opens in a new window
Access current/recent and more historical financial statements for public companies.
MergentOnline (formerly FISonline) is a subscription-based service offering information on over 15,000 U.S. public companies and 30,000 non-U.S. public companies. MergentOnline is produced by Mergent, Inc., formerly known as Moody's). Mergent/Moody's is a publisher of detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements since 1900. The database also includes the Country Report module, a module that consists of the following resources: DnB Country Risk Profile, DnB Country RiskLine Report, and Mergent Country Profile. In addition, the Investext Database is available via Mergent Online.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Access financial statements as well as evaluations and ratings of a company's stock performance.
Value Line is the standard investment advisory service. The Web research center provides access to the standard Value Line Investment Survey and to its related resources. For historical Value Line Investment Surveys back to 1997, select "VLIS & SMC - Historical Archives" from the Dashboard.