It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
98 titles from the U.S. and Canada. Includes issues from the Cherokee Phoenix and Advocate, 1828-1829, 1844-1845, 1883, 1889-1890, 1950, 1977-2014,
98 titles including bi-lingual and indigenous language publications from the United States and Canada. Includes some key 19th century titles, but most publications were founded in the 1970s reflecting the rise of the American Indian movement and the proliferation of Indigenous journalism.
Includes Native American newspapers, with coverage generally back to the 1990s. Contains articles from the Cherokee Phoenix as well as more general sources such as "Native American Times" and "Indian Country Today"
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since 1991, with archival material back to 1985, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of more than 470,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month.
Over 1,000 titles from the 60s, 70s and 80s issued by independent alternative presses. Includes a handful of Native American publications.
Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Search across a million pages of full text and browse every issue, cover-to-cover, in full color. Consolidated for the first time, over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries providing easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTs and more. All of the content is completely copyright cleared with the ultimate transition to open access in mind. Access provided under Creative Commons Non-Commercial License. Rights to the individual works that make up this collection remain with the original copyrights holder.
Use to identify newspapers in our collection by city, state, format, language, or time period
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
Searches multiple Proquest resources. Includes major American historical newspapers such as the NY Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Philadelphia Inquirer.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains Full text (word file with no photos or tables) or images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 journals, and Full text to 150+ newspapers. Keywords: news, new york times,current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, english 15,cas100.
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Includes *some* issues of the Cherokee Advocate and Cherokee Phoenix
Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, webbased archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
Hundreds of papers selected by U.S. states as part of the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program. Dates range from 1789 to 1922, but available content varies for each newspaper
A searchable full-text collection of hundreds of papers selected by U.S. states as part of the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program. Dates range from 1789 to 1922, but available content varies for each newspaper. Searches can be limited by state, newspaper, language, or date. The site also includes a separately searchable newspaper directory which provides information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Directory searches can be used to identify newspapers by place of publication, date, keyword, frequency, language, and type of newspaper.
Newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the U.S
Full-text database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society. Includes missionary and other publications discussing native americans.
Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society. Most are American magazines with a few Canadian and British Empire titles. Contains early publications in many subjects; religion, medicine, science and technology, agriculture, music, art, education, and business as well as publications focusing on children, women, Native Americans and African-Americans.
Full-text of special interest and general magazines including literary and professional journals,children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
Especially well known for its cartoons and images covering political, military, social, and cultural stories
The online version of Harper's Weekly, a leading 19th Century illustrated magazine, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. It contains many images by noted artists such as Winslow Homer, Thomas Nast, and Mathew Brady. In addition, over 30,000 advertisements, categorized by topic and advertiser, are included. Literature in the database is searchable by title, author and literary genre. HarpWeek may be browsed by date or literary genre and the full text is searchable by keywords. Penn State access includes the The Civil War Era 1857 - 1871, Reconstruction, 1872 - 1877 and the Gilded Age, 1878 - 1912.
Use to identify articles by subject appearing in major American magazines.
The online version of the original Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, offers subject access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines. Use Readers Guides Retrospective to find contemporary magazine accounts documenting events in politics, fashion, media, film, television, health and medicine, literature, popular culture, religion and science.