Library Guides: ENGL 202D: Effective Writing: Business Writing: Research Annotations Memorandum

FINDING SOURCES

Trends in Higher Education

Penn State York has received a generous gift. To determine how the funds should be allocated, it would be wise to explore recent trends in higher education to best serve the needs of the campus community.

Try these:

The Trends Re port 2024 (The Chronicle of Higher Education)
The Trends Report 2023 (The Chronicle of Higher Education)
Strategic Trends Glossary (Educause)
Center for Higher Education Excellence: Exploring higher education innovation and trends (Deloitte)
Higher Education in the Post-COVID World (McKinsey & Company)
2024 Trends (Higher Learning Commission)
The Future of Higher Ed Is Occurring at the Margins (Inside Higher Ed)
4 trends that will shape the future of higher education (World Economic Forum)
Five Higher Education Trends the Pandemic Is Accelerating (Denison University)
The Future of Education: 8 Trends to Watch in 2024 (Salesforce.org)

It might also be a good idea to explore Penn State's press releases to see what other campuses are doing.

Finding Articles

The following resources can be useful for finding articles--in journals, newspapers, and magazines--about the trends you identify.

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
ProQuest - U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content going back to the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content going back to the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

You can also try searching for information in discipline-specific databases. The following Subject Guides might contain useful information on remote work.

Subject Guides
- Business and Economics (the one for Entrepreneurship and Innovation may be useful for this assignment)
- Education and Psychology (the one for Higher Education may be particularly useful for information about academic programs and statistics.)

Statistics

This guide provides a list of resources that are useful as a starting place for users looking for topics described by numbers.

Statistics (finding numbers)

Industry and Company Information

The following resources can be useful for finding industry and company information.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles.
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.
MergentOnline (company information - expiring 06/30/2025) This link opens in a new window
MergentOnline (formerly FISonline) is a subscription-based service offering information on over 15,000 U.S. public companies and 30,000 non-U.S. public companies.
MergentOnline (formerly FISonline) is a subscription-based service offering information on over 15,000 U.S. public companies and 30,000 non-U.S. public companies. MergentOnline is produced by Mergent, Inc., formerly known as Moody's). Mergent/Moody's is a publisher of detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements since 1900. The database also includes the Country Report module, a module that consists of the following resources: DnB Country Risk Profile, DnB Country RiskLine Report, and Mergent Country Profile. In addition, the Investext Database is available via Mergent Online.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.