Librarian
Special Collections
- Eberly Family Special CollectionsHomepage for the special Collections where you can find information about hours, staff and the collections.
The class will be using materials from the Occult Collection in Special Collections as the basis for their research paper. (Students can choose any primary source(s) there, dated before 1975.)
To search for and see what materials are held there. Go to the main library web page. Click on "Search the Catalog." (below the big "Find" Search Box). Once the Catalog has opened, click the "Advanced Search" towards the top right corner.
On the Advanced Search Screen, do two things. First, Scroll down the page so you can locate the "Library" and "Location" boxes.
For the "In Library" box, select "Special Collections library "
Second, locate the location box and find the option "Rare Books and Manuscripts, 1st Floor Paterno, Occult Collection". You mat also type 'occult' to locate it.
Please see the screen shot for how to fill in the boxes correctly to pull up the materials from this Occult collection.
Click on search and it will bring up 10 items per page, ranked by relevance. The search defaults to the newest materials first (some of which are primary sources and others that are not). Go to the end of the list to find the oldest materials, or switch the results to display by 'year.'
Select Finding Aids with Occult Materials
- Aleister Crowley papers - Finding Aid"his is a collection of largely administrative papers related to Aleister Crowley’s work in the United States and Canada in growing the sect Mysteria Mystica Maxima (M∴M∴M∴) of the Ordo Templi Orientis, or O.T.O. (“Order of the Temple of the East”), as well as the A∴A∴, or Argentium Astrum, in the United States and Canada."
- Bill Ellis Collection - Finding AidBill Ellis, associate professor, English and American Studies, Penn State Hazleton, research collection on contemporary legends.
- Edward A. Tiryakian papers - Finding AidEdward Ashod Tiryakian was a scholar and professor who edited On the Margin of the Visible: Sociology, the Esoteric and the Occult(1974).
- Leo Louis Martello ephemera collection - Finding AidDr. Leo Louis Martello, an American Wiccan priest and gay rights activist, this source is the first in a series of columns intended to answer questions about witchcraft, paganism, and the occult.