Collection of reports covering political and social issues, great place to start!
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
More definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs
CQ Global Researcher articles are freely available to all CQ Researcher customers on the CQ Researcher site. CQ Global Researcher content provides students with definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
This research guide identifies resource that will provide you access to law reviews, scholarly articles and media sources.
Note: A law review journal is a journal typically published by students at a law school or a bar association. Often these are reviews of legal cases and a discussion of legal issues and are not considered empirical research. They will often be used by lawyers to discover relevant cases for their client's case.
Best for: law reviews and legal journals, with coverage from 1918 to present. You may find other publication types in this database, so consider your source!
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books indexes legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, and bar association publications from 1918 to the present. Coverage also includes books and full-text of selected articles from the early 1990s to the present.
Best for law review and legal journals, as well as Supreme Court opinions, federal legislative histories, as well as presidential and federal documents.
Hein Online is a full-text research collection offering more than 900 legal journals; federal publications such as the Federal Register, U.S. treaties and agreements, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, federal legislative histories, presidential documents; a collection of legal classics; and Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court competition materials.
Best for legal information, including federal/state court opinions and federal/state statutes. This database also includes news and business information, so be cautious about what you're searching for if you need a specific type of source.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals provides access to legal literature worldwide and covers all forms of foreign law. Types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. Coverage is 1985 to current.
Gale Group Infotrac database for research in case law, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation and international law. Covers all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
Legal news website supported by the University of Pittsburgh School of Law.
United States Congress & Public Policy
These resources provide excellent summaries of United States public policy issues discussed in Congress on a weekly basis. Broader topics are discussed further in the almanac and multi-year resources listed below.
Research papers written by the Library of Congress for the use of Congress. Provide objective, non-partisan analysis of public policy issues before the legislature.
Research papers written by the Library of Congress for the use of Congress. Provide objective, non-partisan analysis of public policy issues before the legislature. Full text PDF of reports.