In this handbook, scholars in law, political science, history, and sociology explore the role of organized labor and the working class in the historical construction of democracy. They analyze recent patterns of democratic erosion, examining its relationship to the political weakening of organized labor and, in several cases, the political alliances forged by workers in contexts of nationalist or populist political mobilization. The volume breaks new ground in providing cross-regional perspectives on labor and democracy in the United States, Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Beyond academia, this volume is good reading for policymakers and practitioners concerned with the relationship between labor and democracy.

This Handbook presents a forward-looking review of IO psychology's understanding of both workplace technology and how technology is used in IO research methods. Using interdisciplinary perspectives to further this understanding and serving as a focal text from which this research will grow, it tackles three main questions facing the field. First, how has technology affected IO psychological theory and practice to date? Second, given the current trends in both research and practice, could IO psychological theories be rendered obsolete? Third, what are the highest priorities for both research and practice to ensure IO psychology remains appropriately engaged with technology moving forward?

The Cambridge Handbook of the Global Work-Family Interface provides a single source where readers can find not only information about the general state of global work-family research, but also comprehensive reviews of region-specific research. It will be of value to researchers, graduate students, and practitioners of applied and organizational psychology, management, and family studies.

Applying major theoretical perspectives and research methodologies, this book outlines the concepts of display rules, emotional labor, work motivation, well-being, and discrete emotions. Understanding these ideas will show you how affect can promote team effectiveness, leadership, and conflict resolution.

With comprehensive coverage of topics related to learning, training, and development, this volume is a resource for industrial and organizational (I/O) psychologists, human resource (HR) scholars, and adult education specialists. It provides a forward-looking exploration of the current research on workplace training, employee development, and organizational learning from the primary point of view of industrial organizational psychology. Each chapter discusses current practices, recent research, and, importantly, the gaps between the two.

This book is only available in print
Encompasses labor history from the colonial era to the present. Labor history is also considered in its representation in film, music, literature, and education. Important articles cover the perception of working-class culture, such as the surge in sympathy for the working class following September 11, 2001. Written as an objective social history, the Encyclopedia encapsulates the rise and decline, and continuous change of US labor history into the twenty-first century.

Coffee from East Africa, wine from California, chocolate from the Ivory Coast - all those every day products are based on labour, often produced under appalling conditions, but always involving the combination of various work processes we are often not aware of. What is the day-to-day reality for workers in various parts of the world, and how was it in the past? How do they work today, and how did they work in the past? These and many other questions comprise the field of the global history of work - a young discipline that is introduced with this handbook. In 8 thematic chapters, this book discusses these aspects of work in a global and long term perspective, paying attention to several kinds of work. Convict labour, slave and wage labour, labour migration, and workers of the textile industry, but also workers' organisation, strikes, and motivations for work are part of this first handbook of global labour history, written by the most renowned scholars of the profession.

In the Handbook of Human Resource Development, Neal Chalofsky, Tonette Rocco, and Michael Lane Morris have compiled a collection of chapters sponsored by the Academy of Human Resource Development to address the fundamental concepts and issues that HR professionals face daily. The chapters are written and supported by professionals who offer a wide range of experience and who represent the industry from varying international and demographic perspectives. Topics addressed form a comprehensive view of the HRD field and answer a number of key questions.

The handbook provides a reference work on today’s HR management, based on the combined experience of more than 85 globally selected HR leaders and HR experts. Rather than theoretical discussions about definitions, the handbook focuses on sharing practical experience and lessons learned from the most relevant business perspectives: - cultural / emotional perspective - economic perspective - risk perspective - operational perspective.

This book integrates the growing clinical research evidence related to the emerging transdisciplinary field of occupational health and wellness. It includes a wide range of important topics, ranging from current conceptual approaches to health and wellness in the workplace, to common problems in the workplace such as presenteeism/abstenteeism, common illnesses, job-related burnout, to prevention and intervention methods.

The Handbook aims to fill a gap in the literature by bringing together an assembly of comprehensive and high quality chapters to enable understanding of changes in employment relations since the early 1970s.Theoretically-based chapters attempt to link varieties of capitalism, business systems, and different modes of regulation to the specific practice of employment relations, and offer a truly comparative treatment of the subject, providing frameworks and empirical evidence for understanding trends in employment relations in different parts of the world.

This volume aims to provide an accessible overview of the academic research that characterizes organizational psychology. Specifically, through 26 chapters written by 57 established academics, this volume explores key research streams and facilitates readers in comprehending the key findings, questions, and future research areas of individual differences research in organizational contexts. This book can be of interest also to practitioners that need a deep understanding of individual differences, such as HR managers and recruiters.

Offers a first comprehensive and timely overview of the state of the art thinking and empirical knowledge in the areas of job loss and job search. Multidisciplinary in nature, the 31 chapters in this handbook offer insights into the diverse theoretical and methodological perspectives from which job loss and job search have been studied, such as psychology, sociology, labor studies, and economics.

The Oxford Handbook of Meaningful Work examines the concept, practices and effects of meaningful work in organizations and beyond. Taking an interdisciplinary approach, this volume reflects diverse scholarly contributions to understanding meaningful work from philosophy, political theory, psychology, sociology, organizational studies, and economics. Representing some of the most up to date academic research, the editors aim to inspire and equip researchers by identifying new directions and methods with which to deepen scholarly inquiry into a topic of growing importance.

This Handbook provides an authoritative consideration at the heart of much research on work, employment and management. It does so by drawing on experts in a wide range of disciplines including sociology, economics, labour/industrial relations, human resource management, education and geography. The Handbook is relevant for all with an interest in the changing nature, and future, of work, employment and management.

The Oxford Handbook of Work and Family examines contemporary work-family issues from a variety of important viewpoints. In providing comprehensive, interdisciplinary, cross-cultural, and cross-national perspectives, the authors have assembled a world-class team of scholars and practitioners to offer current information on this rapidly growing area of inquiry.

The Oxford Handbook of Work and Organization aims to bring together, present, and discuss what is currently known about work and organizations and their connection to broader economic change in Europe and America. The volume contains a range of theoretically informed articles, giving comprehensive coverage of changes in work, occupations, and organizations, and an overview of the accumulated understanding of research into work, occupations and organizations in recent decades.

The Oxford Handbook of Work Motivation, Engagement, and Self-Determination Theory brings together experts to talk about a wide range of topics, including: how to bring about commitment, engagement, and passion in the workplace; how to manage stress, health, emotions and violence at work; how to encourage safe and sustainable behavior in organizations; how factors like attachment styles, self-esteem, person-environment fit, job design, leadership, compensation, and training affect work motivation; and how work-related values and goals are forged by the work environment and affect work outcomes.

Edited by Adrienne J. Colella and Eden B. King, The Oxford Handbook of Workplace Discrimination provides readers with a broad and interdisciplinary review of state-of-the-art research on discrimination in the workplace. In this volume, Colella, King, and their contributing authors tackle the unique experiences of people from diverse perspectives and communities (including religious minorities, gay and lesbian workers, and people with disabilities); the myriad of ways in which discrimination can manifest and its overall consequences; explanations for discrimination; and strategies for reduction. This Handbook will propel future scholarship by clearly outlining the substantive questions, methods, and issues for the future ahead.

This Handbook incorporates a variety of disciplines and approaches in order to provide a comprehensive and authoritative examination of the issues that result from increasing age diversity at work. Unique in its coverage of multiple perspectives, it considers not only generational and aging perspectives to age diversity, but also highlights the importance of context in driving both the impact and response to this issue.

This handbook proposes to present best practices in managing and leading the 21st century workforce. It offers strategies and tools to cultivate well-being in the present day boundary-less work environment. Research shows that organizations with higher levels of employee engagement routinely out-perform those with lower employee engagement. This handbook provides valuable insights into why employee well-being is such a powerful driver of employee performance and engagement and what organizations can do to enhance workplace well-being and fulfillment. It brings the research on workplace well-being up-to-date while precisely mapping its terrain and extending the scope and boundaries of this field in an inclusive and egalitarian manner.

Aging has emerged as a major and urgent issue for individuals, organisations and governments of our time. In this well-timed and comprehensive handbook, key international contributors to the field of study come together to create a definitive map of the subject. Framed by an authoritative introductory chapter, the SAGE Handbook of Aging, Work and Society offers a critical overview of the most significant themes and topics, with discussions of current research, theoretical controversies and emerging issues, divided into sections covering: Key Issues and Challenges The Aging Workforce Managing an Aging Workforce Living in an Aging Society Developing Public Policy

The SAGE Handbook of Industrial Relations charts these changes and analyzes them. It provides a systematic, comprehensive survey of the field. The book is organized into four interrelated sections: Theorizing Industrial Relations The changing institutions that shape employment practice The processes used by governments, employers, and unions Income inequality, employee wellbeing, business performance, and national comparative advantages. It offers a compete guide to the central debates, new developments, and emerging themes in the field.

The Handbook uses a psychological perspective, and a uniquely global focus, to review the latest literature and research in the interconnected fields of training, development, and performance appraisal. Covers a diverse range of topics, including needs analysis, job design, active learning, self-regulation, simulation approaches, 360-degree feedback, and virtual learning environments.

The editors draw on their collective experience to present thematically structured material from leading thinkers and practitioners in the USA, Europe, and Asia Pacific. Provides comprehensive coverage of the major contributions that psychology can make toward the improvement of workplace safety and employee health. Equips those who need it most with cutting-edge research on key topics including wellbeing, safety culture, safety leadership, stress, bullying, workplace health promotion and proactivity.

The handbook makes a unique contribution to organizational psychology and HRM by providing comprehensive international coverage of the contemporary field of positivity and strengths-based approaches at work. It provides critical reviews of key topics such as resilience, wellbeing, hope, motivation, flow, authenticity, positive leadership and engagement, drawing on the work of leading thinkers including Kim Cameron, Shane Lopez, Peter Clough and Robert Biswas-Diener.

This handbook makes a unique contribution to the fields of organizational psychology and human resource management by providing comprehensive coverage of the contemporary field of employee recruitment, selection and retention. It provides critical reviews of key topics such as job analysis, technology and social media in recruitment, diversity, assessment methods and talent management, drawing on the work of leading thinkers from a wide range of countries, giving the volume a truly international feel and perspective.

This handbook makes a unique contribution to organizational psychology and HRM by providing comprehensive international coverage of the contemporary field of team working and collaborative organizational processes. It provides critical reviews of key topics related to teams including design, diversity, leadership, trust processes and performance measurement, drawing on the work of leading thinkers including Linda Argote, Neal Ashkanasy, Robert Kraut, Floor Rink and Daan van Knippenberg.

The Wiley Handbook of Global Workplace Learning explores the field of workplace education using contributions from both experts and emerging scholars in industry and academia. Designed to strike a balance between theory and practice, the Handbook provides a wealth of information on foundational topics, theoretical frameworks, current and emerging trends, technological updates, implementation strategies, and research methodologies. With its impressive breadth of coverage and focus on real-world problem solving, this volume serves as a comprehensive tool for examining and improving practices in global workplace learning.