Library Guides: PL SC 428: Gender and Politics: Books and Journal Articles

The CAT

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

LionSearch Basics

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.

For full text items, click the "full text online" link to go to the full text of the article.

If you see the Penn State "GetIt" menu and you need to click the word "article" to get to the full text.
If there is no "article" link, click the word "journal" to get to the journal page and look for the correct year, volume, issue and pages for the article you need.

Tip: Save the relevant sources into the LionSearch temporary folder by clicking on the small folder icon to right side of the item. When you are finished compiling your sources, click on the folder icon at the top of the screen and email or print (which allows you to copy into your clipboard) the references so you can easily add them to your project.

CAVEAT: computer systems make mistakes when auto-formatting.

Citation and Writing Guides
Double check your final paper against the appropriate Citation Style!

Don’t lose your work! Unless you sign up for Refworks, items are saved in LionSearch ONLY for your current session. You won’t be able to go back later and see a list of saved items.

Scholarly Articles in LionSearch

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Scholarly & Peer-Review under the Refine Your Search limits on the left.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Limit your google search to just scholarly literature. The short video below has some tips and tricks and shows how to link google scholar to Penn State's full text resources.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

Using Google Scholar (2 min video)
The basics of using Google's articles search engine.

Subject Databases

Use a subject specific database to narrow you search world to a specific discipline

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
articles in communications
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.