GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
1 Central Pattee
University Park, PA 16802
ul-maps@lists.psu.edu
(814) 863-0094
Related Guides
Anthropology
- GIS: geographic information systems for the social sciences: investigating space and placeThis ebook provides multiple chapters to introduce the reader to GIS, GIS basics, GIS data collection, measurement, and analysis.
- Anthropology, space, and geographic information systemsThis text provides examples of GIS employed in anthropology studies, along with challenges.
Criminology
- Elmes, G. A., Roedl, G., Conley, J. F., & SpringerLink (Online service). (2014). Forensic GIS: The role of geospatial technologies for investigating crime and providing evidence (1;2014; ed.). Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands. doi:10.1007/978-94-017-8757-4This ebook describes geospatial technologies principles, relationships to the courtroom, tracking applications, and technology applications.
- Chainey, S., & Ratcliffe, J. (2005). GIS and crime mapping. Hoboken, NJ;Chichester, England;: Wiley.This text provides examples of GIS in crime mapping.
- GIS in law enforcement: implementation issues and case studiesThis text utilizes case studies to explore GIS in law enforcement.
Political Science
- GIS: geographic information systems for the social sciences: investigating space and placeThis ebook provides multiple chapters to introduce the reader to GIS, GIS basics, GIS data collection, measurement, and analysis.
- Mapping global cities: GIS methods in urban analysisThis text speaks to the power of mapping in cities for resource planning, urban studies, and development.
- GIS-based studies in the humanities and social studiesThis text demonstrates examples of GIS used in economic and social application.
Psychology
- Andrew Lohmann & Laurie E. Schoelkopf (2009) GIS—A Useful Tool for Community Assessment, Journal of Prevention & Intervention in the Community, 37:1, 1-4, DOI: 10.1080/10852350802498326This article demonstrates how GIS can be used to understand a community.
- Mendoza, N. S., Conrow, L., Baldwin, A. and Booth, J. (2013), USING GIS TO DESCRIBE RISK AND NEIGHBORHOOD-LEVEL FACTORS ASSOCIATED WITH SUBSTANCE ABUSE TREATMENT OUTCOMES. J. Community Psychol., 41: 799–810. doi: 10.1002/jcop.21572This article provides the reader with an example of understanding how GIS is used to examine neighborhood characteristcs.
- Qualtitative GISThis text provides the reader with an understanding of GIS from a mixed methods approach.
Sociology
- Facilitating Sociological Inquiry in Spatial Displacement with GIS, by Christopher A. Badurek, Sociation Today, Vol 5 (1), Spring 2007This site provides an example of understanding spatial relationships and a hot spot analysis.
- GIS best practices: Social SciencesThis ESRI document provides multiple examples of GIS in social science disciplines including connections to other broad disciplines in the humanities.
- An Application of Qualitative Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in the Field of Urban Sociology using ATLAS.ti: Uses and Reflections, by Joan Miquel Verd and Sergio Porcel, Forum: Qualitative Social Research, Vol 13 (2), May 2012This article combines a qualitative and GIS approach to investigation of urban space.