These databases will provide you with access to a variety of primary source documents that may be helpful for further research on your topic. Many of these resources also contain additional contextual information about the various primary sources.
Contains texts by British women writers of the 19th century in a variety of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. British Literary Manuscripts Online is published in two parts: British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance & British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900.
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.British Literary Manuscripts Online is published in two parts: British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance & British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900.
This project brings together approximately 60,000 images of original sources, both manuscript and printed materials, documenting the history of exploration, cultural contact, and colonialism. Thematic essays introduce the material and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. Topics include race, class and empire, religion, art, and economic aspects of empire.
This project brings together approximately 60,000 images of original sources, both manuscript and printed materials, documenting the history of exploration, cultural contact, and colonialism. Thematic essays introduce the material and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. Topics include race, class and empire, religion, art, and economic aspects of empire.
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring thousands of poems by some of the most important African American poets between 1750 and 1900.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring thousands of poems by some of the most important African American poets between 1750 and 1900.
Historical Resources
These databases may be useful for identifying contextual historical information surrounding your topic, text, or author.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Can be cross-searched with the Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century newspapers.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Can be cross-searched with the Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century newspapers.
The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The Digital Archive contains the full run from the initial launch in 1842 to the final issue in 2003. The database has more than one and half million color images providing a vivid pictorial commentary on domestic and world affairs. Searches can be limited to illustrations, or sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, or people.
The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The Digital Archive contains the full run from the initial launch in 1842 to the final issue in 2003. The database has more than one and half million color images providing a vivid pictorial commentary on domestic and world affairs. Searches can be limited to illustrations, or sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, or people.
The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. It incorporates the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original index.
The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. It incorporates the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original index.
Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, webbased archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, web-based archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
A unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays. The majority of the content is from the United States, with some coverage of the abolitionist movement in England, Scotland, Ireland and Canada, Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.
A unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays. The majority of the content is from the United States, with some coverage of the abolitionist movement in England, Scotland, Ireland and Canada, Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.