Start Here - CAS 100 - Effective Speech - Library Guides at Penn State University

Selecting a Research Topic

Pick a topic you enjoy! You want something that is broad enough that you can find information and yet narrow enough that you are not overwhelmed with sources.

Choose a Topic Tutorial
Get help here!

Browsing for a Topic

Exploring topics is a great way to get started with your speech assignments. Spend some time searching around for ideas. Choose a topic that catches your interest!

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on general interest/controversial topics. Great graphs and extra resources in the bibliography. Be sure to check dates for currency!
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world.
Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, and human rights. Updated daily.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Browse controversial topics, read viewpoint essays, websites, and more!
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.

PressReader [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new window
A complete way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines.
PressReader provides a global perspective on the World's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site. Users will gain access to newspapers from within the library, from home and around the world on the day they are published. Researchers will find convenient searching, a traditional 2-page newspaper view, table of contents, article jumps (linking article sections) and easy to read text views. PressDisplay can also provide translations into ten major foreign languages.

NY Times Topics
Huge list of questions to think about!
Pew Research Center
Non-partisan research center that tracks both domestic and international public opinion.

Penn State at a Glance
PSU Statistics
Penn State Fact Book
Data on students, faculty and staff, budget, etc.
Penn State Pulse Surveys
Data and graphics about many issues; such as drinking, sustainability, inclusion, etc.
University Archives
A collection of records, maps, audio visual material, and more.
University Faculty Senate
University discussion and policies

Penn State University Libraries

CAS 100 - Effective Speech

Librarian

Selecting a Research Topic

Browsing for a Topic