ASK for Help!
Get help from Librarians across the University!
- Ask A LibrarianWe have live chat, email, and phone options!
Librarian
Databases - Best Bets
Start with these databases to find relevant articles
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowmulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 4,400 peer-reviewed and 5,300 full text periodicals
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window"...focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond."
- Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window"...environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment" & more.
Additional Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowResearch & background information on a variety of issues, including social, political, & environmental topics. Articles from journals, newspapers, magazines; essays from books; websites; videos, audios; & more.
- ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new windowa mulit-disciplinary database which includes science & technology
Finding the Full Text of Articles
Sometimes, the full text of an article won't be available in the database where you find it. Here are some strategies for locating the Full text.
1. Use the Get It! Penn State Button 
This button is a short cut that allows you to quickly search through our other databases to find the full text.
2. Search Yourself Using Lion Search
Lion Search is the catch-all search that allows you to search all our resources at once. Search for the article's title to see if we have the full text in our collection - make sure you put it in quotes!
3. Request an Interlibrary Loan
If the "Get It!" button and Lion Search don't come up with the full text - you will see an option to request the full text via Interlibrary Loan. Once you fill out the request, it may take a few days for us to get the full text from another library - you will be notified by your PSU email how to access the full text once it arrives.