It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching with keywords pertaining to animals in art is a great way to begin looking up potentially relevant books and other library materials. Here are some subject headings pertaining to animals in art:
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.
Animals in art
Animals, Mythical, in art
[Animal name} in art (e.g bulls in art, dogs in art)
Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Discover journal articles in these important databases NOT indexed in LionSearch:
Covers all cultures and eras. Sometimes uses the "Get It" button to find full text.
Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.
European & American from late antiquity to 2007. (Open access!)
Indexing for articles and some other publications on European and American art and architecture from late antiquity to the present. Coverage includes publications between 1975 and 2007. This indexing is not covered in LionSearch. For similar data after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
The following important indexes to articles are mostly covered by LionSearch, but sometimes searching them separately is helpful:
Architecture and landscape architecture of all cultures and eras.
Contains descriptions of articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, furniture, and interior design and decoration in more than 700 international magazines. Most indexing began with 1934, but some titles are indexed to dates as early as 1741. Updated weekly.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) indexes publications about art from the late 19th century to the present, providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Approximately 12-13,000 new entries are added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Successor to "BHA," above, for indexing after 2006.
Indexing for European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present. Strong on topics before 1945. With indexing beginning in 2007, this is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA.)