GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Geospatial Services Librarian
Nathan Piekielek
Contact:
W-1B Pattee Library
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps & Geospatial Information
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
16802-1809
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps & Geospatial Information
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
16802-1809
814-865-3703
Website
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Search Terms
Search Terms: Mapping, Maps in education, Core Curriculum, Education, Media Literacy, Computer Literacy, Digital Literacy, Activity programs
Getting Started
Higher Education
- Sinton, D. S., & Lund, J. J. (2007). Understanding place: GIS and mapping across the curriculum (1st ed.). Redlands, Calif: ESRI Press.This text contains case studies from undergraduate curriculum related to the natural sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Topics and approaches to connecting spatial thinking to discipline-specific examples provides the educator with ideas of how mapping and place can be incorporated into learner activities.
- Unwin, D. (2012). Teaching geographic information science and technology in higher education. Hoboken, N.J; Chichester, West Sussex;: Wiley Blackwell.This text provides examples of creative ways geospatial information science and technology has been incorporated into higher education environments, and discusses the challenges and opportunities of institutions incorporating geospatial information into curriculum.
- Learning to Think Spatially: GIS as a Support System in the K-12 CurriculumThis text provides a foundation to concepts related to spatial thinking, along with applications of spatial thinking across curriculum activities.
- Understanding GIS : an ArcGIS project workbookHarder, Christian, Ormsby, Tim,Balstrøm, Thomas. Redlands, Calif: Esri Press. 2013.
This text provides example exercises for lessons on choosing datasets, building a database, editing features, conducting analysis, automating analysis, and presenting results.
K12 Setting
- Geography for life: National Geography Standards 1994This text includes geography standards and benchmark of K12 standards for the United States.
Getting Started: Articles
Selections from Higher Education and K12
Higher Education
- Diana Stuart Sinton (2009) Roles for GIS within Higher Education, Journal of Geography in Higher Education, 33:S1, S7-S16, DOI: 10.1080/03098260903034046This paper describes how the use of GIS in institutions can be expanded through case studies.
- Guertin, L., Stubbs, C., Millet, C., Lee, T., & Bodek, M. (2012). Enhancing geographic and digital literacy with a student-generated course portfolio in google earth. Journal of College Science Teaching, 42(2), 32.In a university setting, this article provides an example of how Google Earth was used by students in an ePortfolio, and makes connections to digital literacy.
- Jablonski, J. (2004). Information literacy for GIS curricula: An instructional model for faculty. Journal of Map & Geography Libraries, 1(1), 41-58. doi:10.1300/J230v01n01_03In a university setting, this article includes ways to incorporate information literacy into GIS curricula
- Johnson, A. B., & Sullivan, D. (2010). Geospatial education at U.S. community colleges: Background, challenges, and opportunities. URISA Journal, 22(2), 5.This article discusses the role of community colleges in geospatial education, along with challenges and opportunities of incorporating spatial thinking into curriculum.
- Newcombe, N. S. (2006). A plea for spatial literacy. The Chronicle of Higher Education, 52(26), B.20.This article stress the importance of incorporating spatial thinking across disciplines, especially in higher education curriculum.
- Tsou, M., & Yanow, K. (2010). Enhancing general education with geographic information science and spatial literacy. URISA Journal, 22(2), 45.This article discusses the role spatial literacy and geographic information science and technology can play in general education.
- King, M. A., & Arnette, A. N. (2011). Integrating geographic information systems in business school curriculum: An initial example: Integrating geographic information systems. Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education, 9(3), 325-347. doi:10.1111/jThis article provides an example of how a business school incorporated geospatial concepts and GIS into curriculum.
K12 Setting
- Liben, L. S., & Downs, R. M. (1994). Fostering geographic literacy from early childhood: The contributions of interdisciplinary research. Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology, 15(4), 549-569. doi:10.1016/0193-3973(94)90022-1This article provides empirical data from elementary settings on how learners develop spatial understanding of their surroundings and application of spatial concepts. This article makes connections to the role of early mapping activities and children’s understanding of spatial concepts.
- Logan, T., Lowrie, T., & Diezmann, C. M. (2014). Co-thought gestures: Supporting students to successfully navigate map tasks. Educational Studies in Mathematics, 87(1), 87-102. doi:10.1007/s10649-014-9546-2This paper discusses how students in elementary school approach map questions and the role of gestures in their process of addressing spatial problems.
- Miller, J., Keller, C. P., & Yore, L. D. (2005). Suggested geographic information literacy for K-12. International Research in Geographical and Environmental Education, 14(4), 243-250. doi:10.1080/10382040508668358This article discusses results of a survey from educators based on important geospatial concepts to address in the K12 curriculum.
- Nazari, M. & Webber, S. (2010). What do the conceptions of geo/spatial information tell us about information literacy? Journal of Documentation, 67(2), 334-354.This article address how geospatial information is understood conceptually from a diverse sample of individuals and diverse needs of individuals.