This work explores the best of contemporary Italian theatre, from Luigi Pirandello to Massimo Bontempelli. It covers the period from the end of the 19th century to the aftermath of World War II, and includes a number of translations of plays never before published in English.
This is the first English collection of the greatest comedies written in German from the late-eighteenth to the late-nineteenth centuries. Each of the translated comedies is placed in historical context and in relationship to its author's life as well as his other plays, and each is followed by a select bibliography of English-language criticism and interpretation.
In a volume that has become a standard text in Irish studies, editors Maureen O'Rourke Murphy and James MacKillop survey thirteen centuries of Irish literature, including old Irish epic and lyric poetry, Irish folksongs and a selection of nineteenth-century prose and poetry. For each author the editors provide a biographical sketch, a brief discussion of how his or her selections relate to a larger body of work, and a selected bibliography. In addition, this new volume also includes a larger sampling of women writers.
IncludesM.A.I.R.O.U.L.A by Lena Kitsopoulou, translated by Aliki Chapple,Angelstate by Nina Rapi, translated by the author,Wolfgang by Yannis Mavritsakis, translated by Christina Polyxroniou,Hunger by Charalampos Giannou , translated by the author, andJuliet by Akis Dimou, translated by Elizabeth Sakellaridou. The collection includes a foreword and introductions to each play by prominent academics in Greek Contemporary Theatre.
A collection that includes a great range of work, in terms of themes, style, younger/more established and male/female writers. Foreword by Dr Clare Finburgh of the University of Kent. Includes the plays: Rémi De Vos -Till Death Adeline Picault -Bobine And Mikado Magali Mougel -Erwin Motor, Devotion Lancelot Hamelin -Alta Villa
Between 1930 and 1960, popular female dramatists, including Paola Riccora, Anna Bonacci, Clotilde Masci, and Gici Ganzini Granata, set the stage for a new generation of feminist theatre and the development of contemporary Italian women's theatre as a whole. Now largely forgotten, the lives and works of these dramatists are reintroduced into the scholarly conversation in Italian Women's Theatre, 1930-1960. Following a general introduction, the book presents a selection of dramatic works, rounded out by commentary, performance histories, critical analyses, and biographical information.