Charles Grant Blairfindie Allen (Grant Allen), Canadian-born novelist and essayist, emigrated to England and wrote a series of guide books which supported his intellectual bent as a freethinker, agnostic, and socialist. Allen published more than thirty works of fiction, as well as poetry and short stories, under his own name and pseudonyms. Novels included "The Woman Who Did," "The British Barbarians," "What's Bred in the Bone," "Linnet," and "The Scallywag."
This collection contains correspondence, photographs, travel journals, and manuscripts of translations from German that illustrate the literary and cultural relations between Germany, England and the United States. Materials span from 1600 through 1984 with the bulk from the 18th through 20th centuries.
This collection, although not comprehensive, contains the professional and personal papers of Alan Brownjohn. The professional papers include the drafts and final copies for nine novels, eighteen poems, and two plays, most notably "The Long Shadows," "Meet and Write," and "Torquato Tasso." The collection also contains many miscellaneous manuscripts and radioscripts, including the interviews and radioscript for "Something to be Said."
Jacques Henri Cottance was born in Paris on 16 September 1906. As a boy he studied at the Lyceeacute; Chaptal and the Ecole Centrale, then enrolled at the Ecole Aeronautique et d'Automobile, which he left before graduation to pursue a career in the cinema as a critic, technician, actor, and director. He began using the pseudonym Jacques-B. Brunius in the early 1940s. The collection contains correspondence, 1940-1967, original works, translations and adaptations, BBC materials, newspaper clippings, and photographs. Correspondents include Robert Benayoun, Andracirc;e Breton, Marcel Duchamp, Jean Ferry, J. J. Matthews, E. L. T. Mesens, Jean Paulhan, Simon Watson Taylor, Brunius's family members, and others.
he collection consists of galleys, page proofs, and proofs for illustrations for Gertrude Jekyll's book, Wall and water gardens, originally published in 1903. This collection includes material for the second edition of 1913 with the manuscript of a new chapter and extensive annotations and editorial changes to the original text.
The collection includes manuscripts and typescripts of Bonjour tristesse and seven other novels by Sagan, notebooks and miscellaneous notes, two letters from Sagan, extensive printed material, and approximately 300 photographs of Sagan and others.
Fiona Pitt-Kethley (1954- ) is a British writer best known for her satirical, erotic poems and books and articles about sex and travel. She is active in improving the rights of writers, particularly women writers, and eliminating discrimination in poetry publishing and literary awards. The Fiona Pitt-Kethley papers consist of manuscripts and drafts of her writings in various categories, activities related to the business of writing, reviews of her work, business and personal correspondence, artwork, personal business, and documents related to her father, Rupert Singleton Pitt-Kethley.
The collection contains manuscripts of Logue's essays, plays, poems, short stories, and screenplays; reviews of his books; newspaper clippings; poster-poems; research files; videocassettes of his film performances; and voluminous correspondence (1949-1993). Among topics he discusses are Ezra Pound, and the Hugo Claus case. Manuscripts of his works include "The Girls," "Kings," and other works. Correspondents include Samuel Beckett, Betsy Blair, Bertolt Brecht, Hugo Claus, Liese Deniz, Nell Dunn, T.S. Eliot, Ian Fleming, Graham Greene, Adrian Haggard, Michael Horovitz, Frank Kermode, Philip Larkin, Henry Miller, Laurence Olivier, Peter Orlovsky, John Osborne, George Steiner, and Shirley Thompson, among others.
A collection of over 1350 items, chiefly from the 19th century, including correspondence, documents, literary manuscripts, drawings, photographs, and other materials. Over 600 English authors are represented, along with several musicians and artists, and some prominent literary and cultural figures from other countries.
Dr. Luis Alberto Sanchez (1900-1994) was a Peruvian politician, author, and founding member of the left-leaning American Popular Revolutionary Alliance (APRA) party. In addition, he was a leading authority on American and Latin American literature. Sanchez's library, which includes many extremely rare works of literary authors published by small presses, was purchased by the Penn State Libraries in 1969. The subjects range from history and politics to Latin American criticism, poetry, and theater. Imprint dates of the literary works range from 1890 to the 1960s, with a majority of them being published in the 1920s through the 1950s.