Library Guides: Terrorism Research: Finding Information

LionSearch

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.

If you are beginning your research and are unsure of where to find information, you may want to start with LionSearch, available on the University Libraries homepage. A capture of the LionSearch box is displayed below.

Type in your keywords and LionSearch will help you find books and articles available through the Libraries on your topic. You can also use the resources you find as starting points for new keywords and journals for further research.

The CAT

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
Looking for a book? Search available titles at all Penn State campuses using The CAT, University Libraries' online catalog. You can use the traditional CAT, or the new CAT, which provides more filters and an updated interface.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Books you need can be shipped to your closest Penn State campus for pick up or mailed to World Campus Students. Check the World Campus guide for information about having books mailed to your home address.

A search box for The CAT is also available on the University Libraries homepage, by selecting "Search the CAT" or "Try the new Libraries Catalog" on the main search box, as pictured below.

Other Databases

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new window
primary source documents from the collections of the National Security Archive
DNSA is a full-text, online resource providing coverage of more than 150,000 curated primary source documents culled from the collections of the National Security Archive. There are 63 complete collections such as the Cuban Missile Crisis, death squads in Guatemala, US relations with Iran and Iraq, Afghanistan, and terrorism policy.

Global Terrorism Database
An open-source database from the University of Maryland including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015. The GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
reports covering political and social issues
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.

Journals of Interest

You can access the journals below directly through these links. To access other journals, use the library website to browse or search the full list of journals by title from the main page.