Library Guides: ENGL 202B: Writing in the Humanities: Finding library resources

Finding journal articles

There are many databases and electronic resources to help you find journal articles in the University Libraries. You might want to begin using the following resources:

ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest (multiple databases) is a multidisciplinary database indexing over 5,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers in the humanities, social sciences, and more.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
PsycINFO (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature related to psychology, psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals in the arts, humanities, and socials sciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A database for books and articles on modern languages and literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
The MLA International Bibliography contains more than 1.7 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Finding books

To find print and electronic books in the University Libraries, you might want to the University Libraries Search Box. You can also try using University Libraries Catalog and advanced search option.

When you locate your item you have two choices:

Print books

You can request the item using "I want it" on the item record and pick it up at the Pattee/Paterno Common Service Desk. Or, you can retrieve the book yourself from either Pattee/Paterno stacks. If you choose this option, make sure you write down the location and call number of the item.

Electronic Books

Access to digital content may vary, but in many cases you will be able to download materials in pdf format.

If the item is not available in the catalog, there are other options:

Try Interlibrary loan (ILLIAD)
Browse materials in libraries worldwide using WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) and use the "Request via ILL" link to have items delivered to you.
Check out the HathiTrust Digital Library which includes millions of books and other content for free.
And if nothing works, you can also try Google Books.