Library Guides: A ED 303: Visual Arts in the Elementary School: Search Education Journals

Find Articles in Databases

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles for your Research Papers

ERIC (ProQuest)
The best database for education research. Click the "peer reviewed" box before searching.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
PsycINFO (via ProQuest)
The top database for psychology research. Click the "peer-reviewed" box before searching.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Google Scholar
As easy to search as Google but offers mainly scholarly and professional articles and books--no wikipedia or bogus web sites.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

What if I can't see the text of an article I find? Once you find the citation, try the button to see if Penn State has the electronic or print version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, it will appear as the first link on the Get it! menu. If the article is not available electronically, click on The CAT link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy. If no other copy is available, you use the InterLibrary Loan link to request it from another library.

Finding Professional Articles for Lesson Development and Classroom Management

Educational Leadership (Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development)
This journal from ASCD offers classroom management techniques and teaching ideas.

ProQuest Education Journals
A great suite of education journals.
ProQuest Education Journals provides access to over 785 journals, more than 615 in full text, including all aspects of education, with coverage since 1991.
Education Week
The newspaper for K-12 educators, packed full of teaching tips and resources.
Education Week is a national newspaper focusing on K-12 education policy. Serving as a bridge between the worlds of policy and practice, Education Week is now recognized as "American education’s newspaper of record." This subscription includes Campus wide access to EdWeek.org for all the students, faculty, and administrators. Content from 37 print editions published yearly is posted on our Web site as the newspaper is being mailed. In between issues, the Web site is updated daily with the latest news, research, and commentary from the K-12 world. All content becomes part of a searchable archive going back to 1981 of previously published content. The older content as well as the Web-only updates are exclusive to EdWeek.org and can't be found in any other databases.

Art Education

Art Education

Art Education is the official journal of the National Art Education Association, and it is great place to find articles about using illustrated books in teaching.

Browse Scholarly Journals

Here is a list (created by UP Education Librarian Karla Schmit) of some the best scholarly journals on our class topics. You can search many of these at the same time by using Google Scholar.