Library Guides: CAS 455: Gender Roles in Communication: Scholarly Journals

Scholarly Journal Articles

The databases below are subject-based and include most of the scholarly journals for those subjects. Since you are dealing with both communication as well as gender, you can potentially utilize scholarship from either. Similarly, since communication itself draws on bits from other subjects (e.g., social sciences, rhetoric, humanities), that can open it up even further, depending on your research topic. If you are not finding what you need from the databases below, please let Jeff Knapp know-- he's happy to help!

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the primary research database for Communication Arts & Sciences as well as the mass media fields. Includes both scholarly journals as well as professional (non-scholarly) journals.
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This resource is a combination of other databases in the realm of Women's Studies.
This resource provides access to over 232,000 records drawn from ten important Women's Studies databases. Among the databases included in Women's Resources International are Women's Studies Abstracts, one of the premiere Women's Studies indexes; four files from Women Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin; Popline Subset on Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of Mostly English Language Journal Articles from the World Health Organization. Coverage: 1972 to date; citations and abstracts only. Updated semiannually.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals.
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. This may be helpful in researching your chosen social institution.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.