Exhaustive index of bibliography on Greek and Latin languages and literatures
L'Annee Philologique is an exhaustive index of periodicals, books and essays in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography. The database indexes over 1,500 journals from 1969 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides reliable and authoritative bibliographcal guidance
The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well-established critical literature, and it is also a highly active field, which constantly produces new discoveries, interpretations, and theories. In addition to a vast body of scholarship, Classical Studies has been quick to move online so that today’s students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload in all media.
The most comprehensive database for classical archaeology, dating back to 1956
DYABOLA is a specialized indexing service focusing on the ancient world. The most important file it offers is the Archaeological Bibliography (also known as Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom) the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology, dating back to 1956. Select that file for an index to books and journal articles on the antiquities, art, and archaeology in the Mediterranean world from antiquity through the early medieval period. You might first need to check the 'with IP-Access' box and then click 'Start.' You will see a list of the databases where you must click the language flag for the databases to which Penn State subscribes. The search interface is complex. You can access DYABOLA user handbooks at: Universal DYABOLA User Manual.
An index of periodical literature covering basic research with particular strength in the humanities and the social sciences.
IBZ is an index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 1.7 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. Coverage: 1984-present Current edition. Updates: Continuous.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.