Library Guides: Early Government Documents: Pre-1800's

Pre-1800's

America's Historical Imprints
Includes books, pamphlets, sermons and some state and federal government documents printed in the US before 1820. For government publications search or browse by author/organization (e.g. United States. Army or Pennsylvania. General Assembly). Searches the databases American Broadsides and Ephemera and Early American Imprints I (Evans): 1639-1800.
Papers of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789
Collection of documents including correspondence, minutes, and committee and agency reports.
Published American colonial records. [microform]
A collection of the most important published colonial and state records for the original thirteen colonies plus Maine and Vermont to about 1800.

Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Digital Collection 1789-1969)
Full-text of government publications, including congressional reports, executive and department reports and other documents ordered printed by Congress.
A massive collection of government publications produced by Congress (hearings, reports, etc...). Also a source for many early Executive Branch documents such as Annual Reports which Congress directed to be printed for its use.
The U.S. Serial Set, a full-text collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, includes Congressional reports and documents, executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress, the American State Papers, and all maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs found within the U.S. Serial Set from 1789-1969. It covers every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business, and manufacturing.

American State Papers, 1789-1838
The American State Papers contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation, 1774-1875
Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept records of their proceedings. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress make up a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation and the development of the federal government and its role in the national life. These documents record American history in the words of those who built our government.

A few Early Pennsylvania Records Online

Pennsylvania Archives
Massive collection of early Pennsylvania government records that include Revolutionary War records, minutes of the General Assembly minutes, early Boundary disputes, and other documents.
Pennsylvania Session Laws Preservation Project
Contain public and private laws of the Province and Commonwealth of Pennsylvania from 1682.