Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
In the Libraries
- Bellefonte Central Railroad Records, 1875-1987Includes numerous local maps and blueprints accompanying legal agreements.
- Finding aid: Bellefonte Central Railroad Records, 1875-1987Includes executive correspondence, financial and administrative records, annual reports, operations records, and photographs, providing remarkable detail of operations.
- Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company: Buffalo, Rochester and Pittsburgh Division Records, circa 1920-1977Includes personal-injury and train-accident case files; superintendent's correspondence; classification and occupational roster sheets; safety files; tests and evaluation forms of employees and their knowledge of jobs; and employee applications.
- Finding aid: Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company, Buffalo, Rochester and Pittsburgh Division recordsIncludes management-labor committee case files, accident reports, personnel files, and dispatch sheets.
- Map of rail roads of Pennsylvania and New Jersey and parts of adjoining statesPrepared from official data by J.A. Anderson.
- Railway map of the state of Pennsylvania, 1872Shows county boundaries, completed and proposed railroad lines, canals, towns, railroad stations, and county seats.
- Electric railway map of PennsylvaniaShows county boundaries, completed and proposed railroad lines, canals, towns, railroad stations, and county seats.
- Steam railway map of PennsylvaniaShows steam railroads in color.
Railroads appear on USGS topographic maps. Trace railroad lines on historic and current maps in the Libraries' collections.
Use the Library of Congress subject heading Railroads - Pennsylvania - Maps in the Penn State Libraries' catalog to find many more titles.
Other Resources
- Pennsylvania Railroad Maps [Library of Congress]Regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century
- Pennsylvania Railroads map, 1899 [Rutgers University] [JPG image]Color map of Pennsylvania railroads circa 1899
- Keystone CrossingsWebsite includes employee timetables, railroad system maps, online databases, freight operations, and passenger operations.
- Pennsylvania Railroad Panhandle Track Charts [RailsandTrails.com]Maintained by Stephen Titchenal, "[t]his website provides high resolution digital images of historic maps and documents that can be re-used by students, educators and historians."
- Rails and Trails.com - DiagramsTrack diagrams are detailed charts of the tracks. This site has a wonderful collection. Contact them directly as they have lots of diagrams that are not posted on the site for a small fee. One of the best collections of this maps outside of the National Archives. Site has lots of maps of Ohio.
- Abandoned Railroads of PennsylvaniaDedicated to the preservation of the history of these former railroad lines and the companies that operated them and part of AbandonedRails.com
- Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)One of ten agencies within the Department of Transportation
- Railroad Maps and Railroad-related Land RecordsRecords in the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission. Most items in this collection have not been scanned.
- Railroad Maps in the Cartographic Research Room at the National ArchivesUS Government maps and records relating to railroads.
- Railroad Map Index from the National ArchivesSearch Archives records by railroad name.