Library Guides: ENGR 888: Seminar for Engineering Teaching Assistants: Research Tips

Starting Engineering Research

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
Where you can find print books, e-books, journals, and e-journals, handbooks and manuals. It does not index journal articles.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.
LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.

Databases by Title (A-Z)
- Complete list of all the databases you have access to as Penn State students or faculty, includes all engineering databases as well.
Interlibrary Loan
- A place to request materials Penn State does not own such as books, journals, articles, etc.
- The department will request the item from another library or university. There is no charge for this service.

Articles and Databases

A couple databases to help you get started with your research; for more resources to assist you with finding relevant databases, journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, websites, professional societies, etc. please see "Engineering Library Webpage,"or "University Library Homepage," in the list of tabs to your left.

Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and conference proceedings on all areas of engineering.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use to find citations to relevant articles in all areas of science and engineering.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.