v.1. Adventurers in the wilderness, by Clark Wissler, C. L. Skinner and William Wood.--v.3. The lure of the fontier, a story of race conflict, by R. H. Gabriel.--v.3. Toilers of land and sea, by R. H. Gabriel.--v.4. The march of commerce, by Malcolm Keir.--v.5. The epic of industry, by Malcolm Keir.--v.6. The winning of freedom, by William Wood and R. H. Gabriel.--v.7. In defense of liberty, by William Wood and R. H. Gabriel.--v.8.. Builders of the Republic, by F. A. Ogg.--v.9. Makers of a new nation, by J. S. Bassett.--v.10. American idealism, by L. A. Weigle.--v.11. The American spirit in letters, by S. T. Williams.--v.12. The American spirit in art, by F. J. Mather, Jr., C. R. Morey and W. J. Henderson.--v.13. The American spirit in architecture, by T. F. Hamlin.--v.14. The American stage, byO. S. Coad and Ewin Mims, Jr.--v.15. Annals of American sport, by J. A. Krout.
Can search by decades, for example, enter 1900-1909.
NOTE: Digital Dress collections are visible only via FIREFOX, or CHROME browsers, or earlier versions of INTERNET EXPLORER (release 10 and above are not compatible). [Wayne State University Libraries]
Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. [Duke University Libraries]
This companion volume to "American Theatre Companies, 1749-1887" (Greenwood Press, 1986) is an indispensable guide to an aspect of American theatre covered by no other reference work. Salient facts about resident acting companies of the period in the United States are presented in an easy-to-use format. Information from hundreds of published and unpublished sources relating to the dates, places, personnel, policies, and repertories of the most durable theatrical groups is encapsulated and arranged for easy access. Each entry includes dates and locations of the company's operations, names of managers with information about their artistic and business practices, as well as facts about key performers, designers, technicians, and other support personnel. An added dimension is provided in the analysis of each group's repertory and assessment of its commercial and artistic achievement. A bibliography of published sources used in the entry, as well as a guide to archival resources for further study are included.
Because of its contemporary coverage, this volume is particularly interesting and useful. . . . Reference collections that deal with theater questions could find it a good source even without its two predecessor volumes, but the set as a whole is recommended. "Choice" An outstanding reference collection is completed with the publication of Durham's "American Theatre Companies, 1931-1986," an indispensable guide to an aspect of American theatre not covered elsewhere. The American theatre has undergone a process of decentralization and the focus has shifted from Broadway, once the proving ground for all nationally known theatre talent, to fine regional theatres across the nation. This volume surveys the fifty-year period in which this transformation occurred. The work consists of seventy-eight entries that profile a wide range of types of theatre companies including art theatres, units of the Federal Theatre project, workers' theatre, experimental theatre groups, ethnic theatre groups, children's theatre companies, and regional repertory companies, large and small. The Profiles section contains information-packed narratives from both published and unpublished sources that describe, analyze, and evaluate management policies, facilities, personnel, and repertories of these organizations. Each entry contains an extensive list of key personnel, including managers, designers, actors, and actresses, as well as plays that company produced. A bibliography of sources and a guide to archival resources for further study follows each entry. Two additional appendices are devoted to chronological and state-by-state listings of theatre companies. The volume concludes with an index of personal names and play titles. This important resource should be a part of every university's reference collection. It will be consulted by students and scholars of theatre and drama, American history, American popular culture, and American social and cultural history, as will its companion volumes "American Theatre Companies, 1749-1887" (Greenwood Press, 1986) and "American Theatre Companies, 1888-1930" (Greenwood Press, 1987).
The Publishers Weekly bestseller list started on May 3, 1919; the New York Times Book Review list began on October 6, 1935. Though the lists do not always reflect the best in American publishing, they do offer a myriad of insights into popular culture.All books that have appeared on any of the Publishers Weekly or New York Times lists are included in this comprehensive reference work. Arranged alphabetically by author and then by book, each entry includes the book's title, publisher, lists on which it appeared and dates it debuted thereon, peak position, and total number of weeks on the lists. Information is provided for hardcover, paperback, and other special editions when appropriate.
This comprehensive reference covers 295 years of music history, year-by-year. Each entry contains a concise survey of world political and cultural highlights to provide context for the year's musical developments; a listing of events in popular and commercial music including significant births, deaths, debuts, musical theater productions, and number one hits; and a listing of events in classical and art music including important births, deaths, debuts, compositions, new positions, honors, awards, and publications.
Fully revised and updated--including the 2003 Academy Awards--Cinema Year by Year is the definitive chronology of the movies. Thousands of lively, informative articles trace the development of the cinema from the first experiments of Edison and the Lumieres to the global film industry of the 21st century, accompanied throughout by stills, posters, portraits, and other images, this volume is a pleasure to browse as well as a terrific reference for movie lovers.
What show won the Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series in 1984? Who won the Oscar as Best Director in 1929? What actor won the Best Actor Obie for his work in Futz in 1967? Who was named Comedian of the Year by the Country Music Association in 1967? Whose album was named Record of the Year by the American Music Awards in 1991? What did the National Broadway Theatre Awards name as the Best Musical in 2003? This thoroughly updated, revised and highly recommended (Library Journal) reference work lists over 15,000 winners of twenty major entertainment awards: the Oscar, Golden Globe, Grammy, Country Music Association, New York Film Critics, Pulitzer Prize for Theater, Tony, Obie, New York Drama Critic's Circle, Prime Time Emmy, Daytime Emmy, the American Music Awards, the Drama Desk Awards, the National Broadway Theatre Awards (touring Broadway plays), the National Association of Broadcasters Awards, the American Film Institute Awards and Peabody. Production personnel and special honors are also provided.
Produced in co-operation with the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago, this reference has 600 topical entries covering major countries and regions of the world as well as specific programmes and people; networks and organizations; regulation and policies; audience research; and radio's technology. The encyclopedia provides listings of further readings for most entries, production credits for programsme, and biographical details for all personal entries, in addition to a full list of all contributors and a comprehensive index. Each essay provides information on its subject and comments on the significance of that person, programme, organization, or topic; aiming to give a sense of radio history and the place of the entry's subject in that history as well as the issues and problems that have helped to define the medium. Radio is presented as an intersection of technological, economic, political, social, aesthetic and other factors.
How did Philip Gault become The Whisperer? What radio series was the proving ground for a motion picture? Who owned the Solomon Levy Department Store?The answers to these and many other questions can be found in this encyclopedic reference work to 1802 radio programs broadcast from the years 1924 through 1984. Entries include casts, character relationships, plots and storylines, announcers, musicians, producers, hosts, starting and ending dates of the programs, networks, running times, production information and, when appropriate, information on the radio show's adaptation to television. Hundreds of program openings and closings are included.
Watching TV remains the only book about television to go beyond mere alphabetical listings and limited reminiscences about the medium's most popular programs. Harry Castleman and Walter J. Podrazik present a sweeping season-by-season survey capturing the essence of television from its inception to the present. The authors have dug through mounds of obscure facts, offbeat anecdotes, and the complicated network strategies that have made television a multibillion-dollar industry. By presenting every prime-time schedule season by season, from the fall of 1944, Watching TV provides a fascinating reading of how the personalities, popular shows and coverage of key event shave evolved during the past six decades. Full of facts, firsts, insights, and exploits, as well as rare and memorable photographs, Watching TV is a valuable history of American television, now updated to include the most recent programming and industry developments.
Following the format of the widely acclaimed, The Value of a Dollar, The Value of a Dollar 1600- 1865, The Colonial Era to The Civil War records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased, from the Colonial Era to the Civil War.
A guide to practical economy, The Value of a Dollar records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities. The first edition, published by Gale Research in 1994, covered the period of 1860 to 1989. This second edition has been completely redesigned and revised and now contains two new chapters, 1990-1994 and 1995-1999. Each 5-year chapter includes a Historical Snapshot, Consumer Expenditures, Investments, Selected Income, Income/Standard Jobs, Food Basket, Standard Prices and Miscellany. This interesting and useful publication will be widely used in any reference collection.