A comprehensive encyclopedia of all aspect of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only on the religion, but also on the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, as well as the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries. The Encyclopaedia of Islam is the most important reference tool on Islam presently available.
The international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world
Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Index Islamicus is produced by Brill Academic Publishers.
Indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, and essay collections published worldwide. Publications dealing with the period 400-1500 and published since 1967 are covered. Subject areas include: Classics, Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Crusades, Hagiography, Onomastics, Numismatics, Historiography, Epigraphy, medieval Manuscripts, Charters, Documents. Middle Ages.
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books.
Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Here major policy statements and other working documents are set out in context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Photographs and color maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life. Topics covered include:The British administration in Baghdad, Gertrude Bell,advisor to the British administration, in both reports and memos *The Arab Uprising of 1920 *The Cold War and Soviet intervention in Iraq *Kurdish unrest and the war in Kurdistan *Oil concessions and oil exploration *The Rise of Ba'athism and Saddam Hussein *Iran-Iraq relations.