"This handbook documents the impact of the study of gender and sexuality upon the foundational practices and precepts of anthropology. Individual chapters survey specific thematic areas. It introduces contemporary anthropological theory through in-depth ethnographical discussion of key topics in the study of gender and sexuality"

Provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa two million years ago to the beginnings of written history. Topics include archaeolinguistics, molecular genetics, and examine the essential questions of human development around the world.

This encyclopedia contributes to our understanding of human evolution, human culture, and human reality through an inclusive global lens. Contains over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology, with contributions by 300 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished universities, institutes, and museums in the world.

Features over 450 entries contributed by an international team of scholars, and presents an extensive survey of the field. Topics ranging from ongoing human evolution, paleoanthropology, and non-human primates to paleopathology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology are included.

This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts.

Contains 36 essays that were specially commissioned from the leading researchers in their fields, creating a wide-ranging digest of the global field of historical archaeology. It reviews key themes, issues, and approaches of historical archaeology today, as well as case studies charting the development and historical archaeological practice around the world.

This handbook presents population profiles and analyses concerning racial/ethnic disparities and changing intergroup relations. Scholars from various parts of the world and disciplines address the links between stratification, demography, and conflict across the globe.

Cognitive Archaeology is a discipline that investigates the only direct evidence of the actions and decisions of prehistoric people. Its theories and methods are an eclectic mix of psychological, neuroscientific, paleoneurological, philosophical, anthropological, ethnographic, comparative, aesthetic, and experimental theories, methods, and models, united only by their focus on cognition. The handbook encompasses the wide spectrum of the discipline, showcasing contributions from more than 50 established and emerging scholars from Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia, and the Americas.

Provides a current and comprehensive guide to the recent and on-going archaeology of Mesoamerica. Though the emphasis is on prehispanic societies, this Handbook also includes coverage of important new work by archaeologists on the Colonial and Republican periods.

This Handbook provides a transnational reference point for critical engagements with the legacies of, and futures for, global archaeological collections. Through twenty-eight chapters, authors problematize and suggest new ways of thinking about historic, contemporary, and future relationships between archaeological fieldwork and museums, as well as the array of institutional and cultural paradigms through which archaeological enquiries are mediated.

Provides a comprehensive review of hunter-gatherer studies to date, including critical engagements with older debates, new theoretical perspectives, and renewed obligations for greater engagement between researchers and indigenous communities. Chapters provide in-depth archaeological, historical, and anthropological case-studies, and examine far-reaching questions about human social relations, attitudes to technology, ecology, and management of resources and the environment, as well as issues of diet, health, and gender relations -- all central topics in hunter-gatherer research, but also themes that have great relevance for modern global society and its future challenges.

Offers a compendium of zooarchaeology the world over that transcends environmental, economic, and social approaches, seeking instead to provide a holistic view of the roles played by animals in past human cultures. Incisive chapters written by leading scholars in the field incorporate case studies from across five continents.

Part of Oxford's Research Encyclopedia (ORE) program, this encyclopedia is a dynamic online reference source that will be continuously updated by the world's leading scholars in the field. It offers broad coverage ensuring a comprehensive, encyclopedic map of the field.

Provides an overview of the complex relationship between anthropology and global health. The book brings together a diverse group of scholars who consider the intersection of anthropological concerns with health and disease as understood and intervened upon by the field of global health.

This Handbook provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary topics in environmental anthropology and thorough discussions on the current state and prospective future of the field in seven key sections. The volume enables scholars and students quick access to both established and trending environmental anthropological explorations into theory, methodology and practice.