Skip to Main Content

Genealogy and Family History

Extensive listing of resources for genealogy and family history research.

Indexes/Guides

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
The world's largest online history resource.
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States, UK, and Canadian censuses, beginning in the 18th and 19th century; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

American Genealogical Index
Continues 'The American genealogical-biographical index to American genealogical, biographical and local history materials.'
The American genealogical-biographical index to American genealogical, biographical and local history materials
A name index to information in published genealogy sources.
Pennsylvania Archives (digital)
Records originally published in the "Colonial Records" and "Pennsylvania Archives" print volumes. Available for free on fold3 (link t https://www.fold3.com/browse/1/h9Y02Zdgu). (account required). Many volumes have also been scanned by libraries and are available for free on the HathiTrust Digital Library. (link to Hathi). The PA State Archive provide a descriptive page outlining the contents of the 138 volumes in this set.
The American genealogical index
Encyclopedia of Pennsylvania Biography
Genealogies of Pennsylvania families : from the Pennsylvania magazine of history and biography
Index to American genealogies : and to genealogical material contained in all works such as town histories, county histories, local histories, historical society publications, biographies, historical periodicals, and kindred works, alphabetically arranged
Inventory of the County Archives of Pennsylvania by Historical Records Survey of Pennsylvania
Keystone Treasures: A Guide to Museums and Historical Organizations in Pennsylvania
Use to identify local organizations.

Websites

Family Search
The web site of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah is the world's largest repository of genealogy records. Materials from the Utah collection can be requested on loan from the closest Family History Center. The Family Search web site has a directory of the Family History Centers. Free account.
National Archives Genealogy Page
- USGenWeb Project A volunteer project to make useful material available online for every county in the U.S. Two major projects are inputting Census records, and transcribing tombstones.