GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Search Strategies for Resource and Examples
Using related terms for applying GIS and related technologies with examples
Example: GIS and agriculture
-Incorporating additional terms: mapping, imagery, remote sensing, field work, surveys, and additional descriptors
-Incorporating geographic terms
-Related Subject Terms
- Forest ecology
- Agricultural ecology
- Land Use
- Nature / Ecology
- Food Supply
- Sustainable agriculture
- Agriculture systems
-
Search for subject term: Food Supply - MapsThis library catalog search with results related to food supply and maps.
Agricultural Sciences: Select Library Resources
-
Pierce, F. J., & Clay, D. (2007). GIS applications in agriculture. Boca Raton: CRC Press.This text includes applications of GIS in pest management, weed management, and soil mapping applications.
-
GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume Two: Nutrient Management for Energy EfficiencyThis text includes case studies related to nutrient management, climate, soil, and remote sensing.
-
GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume Three: Invasive SpeciesThis text includes information on geospatial data, GPS, predictive mapping, and crop management.
-
Mapping Geospatial Citizenship: The Power of Participatory GISThis e-book provides insights into community mapping, participatory GIS, and relevant topics for community engagement.
-
Food: an atlasThis text includes multiple cartographic examples related to food production, food supply, and community engagement.
-
Morain, S. A. (1999). GIS solutions in natural resource management: Balancing the technical-political equation (1st ed.). Santa Fe, NM: OnWord Press.This text provides an overview of natural resource management as geospatial information applied through case studies to solve challenges.
-
Lyon, J. G. (2003). GIS for water resources and watershed management. London: Taylor & Francis.This text approaches hydrological modeling, and real world applications of watersheds and water resource management through the use of GIS.
-
Thakur, J. K., Singh, S. K., Ramanathan, A. L., Prasad, M. B. K., Gossel, W., & SpringerLink (Online service). (2012;2011;). Geospatial techniques for managing environmental resources (1. Aufl.;1st; ed.). Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands. doi:10.1007/978-9This e-book incorporates remote sensing, geographic information systems, and data informatics to address environmental challenges related to risk modeling, forest cover, crop disease detection, and land use/land cover.
Agricultural Sciences: Select Web Resources
-
GIS for Agriculture, ESRIThis ESRI site provides examples related to precision agriculture, risk and sustainability, and field operations.
-
Agricultural Science and GISThis site explores how GIS is being used in agricultural science.
Library Geospatial Databases
-
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new windowExplore by geography and temporal extents international topics.
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowGenerate maps and data for socioeconomic indicators. Generate community profile and community health reports for locations.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowExplore interactive map application related to U.S. decennial census data, crime, health, Covid-19, population estimates, election, opportunity zones, environmental summaries, and business patterns; world development indicators; European statistics; UK Census; Canadian Census; and Ireland religion data.
-
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowCreate maps of indicators, reports, and tables. Display business information with map information.
Examples of StoryMaps and GIS applications
-
Penn State ArcGIS Online Search: Agricultural food accessSearching for: Agricultural food access in the Penn State ArcGIS Online account. Login into https://pennstate.maps.arcgis.com with your Penn State email and password.