ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search multiple news sources, including the New York Times, the Washington Post and other key American newspapers; important African-American newspapers from around the country, and international sources including the Irish Times, Le Monde, Palestine Post, and the Times of India. A good source for a variety of reporting on the war.
45 titles from the United States and Canada. Use to get an Indigenous perspective on the War years.
45 titles including bi-lingual and indigenous language publications from the United States and Canada. Includes some key 19th century titles, but most publications were founded in the 1970s reflecting the rise of the American Indian Movement and the proliferation of Indigenous journalism.
A dozen historical Black newspapers from around the country (New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Kansas City, etc...)
Twelve historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010); Chicago Defender (1910-2010); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010); Kansas City Call, (1919-2010); Louisville Defender, (1951-2010); Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010); and Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
12 English-language periodicals produced in China, largely aimed at Western audiences.
12 English-language periodicals produced in China. Longer-running publications include the North China Herald (1850-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Chinese Recorder(1868-1941) and the China Weekly Review (1923-1950). There are also shorter runs of; Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953),China Press (1925-1938), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), and Weekly Review (1922-1923). In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and ads.
A collection of primarily British news sources. Useful for English-language coverage of the war outside the United States.
The Gale NewsVault allows researchers to cross-search historical newspaper collections, including the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century US Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault allows the most effective searching across many newspapers.
Hundreds of searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics. Most content is in Spanish.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.
Historical Jewish Press Digitized collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Includes Palestine Post (1932-1950), Davar (1925-1996), Maariv (1948- ), and many others.
Popular magazines published between World War I and World War II covering culture, entertainment, fashion, home life, and politics. Most of the titles are British, with some from the United States and other countries.
"Interwar Culture showcases popular and lesser-known periodicals published during the interwar period. With articles covering culture, entertainment, fashion, home and family life, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues, these historically significant and highly visual magazines provide a rich insight into these dynamic yet turbulent decades, as well as allowing examination of a burgeoning media industry that both shaped and reflected society."
The first Illustrated weekly newspaper. Includes over a million color images on domestic and world affairs.
The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The Digital Archive contains the full run from the initial launch in 1842 to the final issue in 2003. The database has more than one and half million color images providing a vivid pictorial commentary on domestic and world affairs. Searches can be limited to illustrations, or sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, or people.
Produced by Japanese-Americans these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in internment camps. They include articles written in English and Japanese
The oldest English language newspaper in Japan. A great source, but lacks relevancy ranking of results.
Published in Tokyo by Japanese publishers, Japan Times is the oldest English language newspaper in Japan and was for many years the only foreign-language newspaper in Japan. The digital archive includes full-text back to 1897 including title changes over the years; Japan Times and Mail, Japan Times and Advertiser, Japan Advertiser, and Nippon Times.
English-language news covering politics and events from the Middle East.
"This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time."
English-language publications covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought.
"ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning the 20th century covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought."
An important newspaper covering French and European politics and society.
"The historical newspaper Le Monde provides students, researchers and scholars with online, easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time."
Historical newspapers from Pennsylvania including smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg).
NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg). The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.
Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Archive consists of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present).
The official newspaper of Soviet communism and the Communist Party.
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
Published in Johannesburg, South Africa in English, the Rand chronicles life in South African and the African continent.
Published daily in Johannesburg, The Rand Daily Mail is an important title chronicling South Africa and the African continent in the 20th Century. Published in English, the Rand was a critic of South African government policies during apartheid.
Over 200 titles from various nations. The service newspapers offered information, entertainment, and encouragement
This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 200 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.
An English-language title known for its influential, and independent reporting on Asia.
"Founded in 1903 by Alfred Cunningham and Tse Tsan-tai, a key figure in the Chinese revolt against the last imperial Qing Dynasty at the turn of the 20th century, the newspaper became a platform for advocating the reform movement in China. It is highly regarded by researchers because of the unique history of Hong Kong as well as the newspaper’s editorial perspective on Imperial Japan and Communist China."
The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India
The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today, this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. In its pages, The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear power.
Full-text of the important newspaper. Includes significant global coverage, especially for parts of the British empire and Europe.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Full-text books, pamphlets, and periodicals on the movement for women's rights. Includes materials from Europe, the U.S. the U.K, Canada, and New Zealand.
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights through 1945. Includes materials from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
Popular magazines aimed at female readers. Titles include Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Redbook, Comopolitan, Essence, and Seventeen.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. "Parents", for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends.