Map Specialist
Heather Ross
she/her
Contact:
1 Pattee Library
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Penn State University Libraries
University Park, PA 16802
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Penn State University Libraries
University Park, PA 16802
814-863-1349
Website
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Resources
Here are some resources to help you with your project
Photo resources
Make sure you log and capture information about your photos while doing your research. Capture:
- Url to photo
- Who the photo is attributed to
- Find the licensing information about the photo. Your project is covered by educational use, but in the future, if you use images for commercial purposes you will have to pay attention to the license and use information.
- FlikrLook at License History for licence and use information.
- Wikimedia CommonsLook at "More Details" for licensing and use information.
- Google ImagesClick on the tools button to limit by type, time, and usage rights (select Creative Commons)
Library Guides
- Penn State New Photographs GuideNews Photographs Research Guide, includes databases, award winners, magazine & newspaper photos, archives & collections, articles, books, videos about news photos and visual storytelling.
- Penn State Jewish Studies Library GuidePenn State Libraries guide for Jewish Studies including links to databases and online reference sources.
- University of Illinois Middle East Library Guides27 individual guides context and resources. Books shown can be requested through our InterLibrary Loan system.
Maps
- David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 35 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
- Library of Congress Map CollectionScanned maps from the largest map collection in the world. Contains both US and International maps. All are in the public domain.