Books, videos, dissertations and theses, encyclopedias, and other online resources.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.
This volume is the first multidisciplinary guide to the study of Latin American studies to provide both broad coverage and substantial depth. It includes essays on research trends and approaches, provides entries on over 6,000 bibliographic and research sources, and selectively identifies specialized collections and resources in United States research libraries. The contributors provide the perspectives of Latin American bibliographers, researchers, and Latin American scholars. The book is divided into fifteen chapters, beginning with a general bibliography of interdisciplinary sources. The fourteen chapters that follow cover disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Each chapter includes an introductory essay or essays, one or more bibliographic sections, and a section describing relevant special collections. The work also includes subject, author, and title indexes. The multidisciplinary nature of the work will make it valuable to students, librarians, and faculty members in Latin American Studies.
This vast three-volume Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. Its coverage is unparalleled with more than 40 regions discussed and a time-span of 1920 to the present day. "Culture" is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture. The international team of contributors include many who are based in Latin America and the Caribbean making this the most essential, authoritative and authentic Encyclopedia for anyone studying Latin American and Caribbean studies. Key features include: * over 4000 entries ranging from extensive overview entries which provide context for general issues to shorter, factual or biographical pieces * articles followed by bibliographic references which offer a starting point for further research * extensive cross-referencing and thematic and regional contents lists direct users to relevant articles and help map a route through the entries * a comprehensive index provides further guidance.
A true "first," this encyclopedia is the only comprehensive guide ever published on the archaeology and traditional culture of the Caribbean. In The Peoples of the Caribbean, archaeologist Nicholas J. Saunders assembles for the first time a comprehensive sourcebook on the archaeology, folklore, and mythology of the entire region, charting a story 7,000 years in the making. Drawing on decades of study in the Caribbean and South America, Saunders explores landmark archaeological sites, such as Caguana in Puerto Rico, with its ceremonial architecture and ballcourts, and plantation sites, such as Jamaica's Drax Hall. The author dives into the underwater archaeology of Spanish treasure galleons and untangles stories of cannibalism, zombies, and hallucinogenic snuffing rituals. He examines the impact of key Europeans, such as Christopher Columbus, and introduces readers to the native people, such as the Arawak, who welcomed them. Bringing the story up-to-date, Saunders chronicles the struggle of the indigenous people, from the Caribs of Dominica to the Taíno of the Dominican Republic, trying to reclaim and revitalize their historical cultural identity. 500 A-Z entries on all major prehistoric civilizations and archaeological sites ranging from Amazons and Black Legend to Shamanism and Vodoun Comprehensive introductory essay providing a framework of the archaeological and cultural heritage of the Caribbean peoples References with each entry as well as a comprehensive end-of-volume bibliography, making further research easy Chronology of the Caribbean's diverse prehistoric, colonial, and modern peoples from c. 5,000 B.C. to the present
The third edition of this volume, a joint publication with the Advisory Council on Latin American and Iberian information Resources (ACLAIIR), provides details of more than 200 collections in national, university, public and special libraries in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. The scope of each collection is described and details are given of opening hours, admission requirements, addresses and other contact information. Where available, the URLs of internet home pages andaddresses of online catalogues via telnet or the Web are listed. The volume is indexed by subject, country/region and organization/institution. Details are also given of collections which appeared in earlier editions and which have since been renamed or incorporated in other libraries.
The Encyclopedia examines urgent contemporary issues like economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, as well as the long-term factors that have moulded Latin America as we find it today: the native flora and fauna, the emergence of early civilisations in Mexico and Peru, imperial domination over three centuries by Spain and Portugal, the struggle for independence in the nineteenth century, and the political turbulence of the twentieth. Coverage is provided also of music and literature, architecture, painting, and intellectual life, vividly reminding us that beyond today's headlines lies the culture of the tango and the samba, Borges and Neruda, Garcia Márquez and Diego Rivera, Villa Lobos and Bob Marley.
Reggae music is more than just steel drum bands on white sand beaches. Its history is rich with culture and evolution, helping to tell the story of Jamaica's past. Due to its depth and extensive coverage, this book is the most complete and up to date encyclopedia about reggae, mento, ska, rocksteady, and dancehall music on the market today. Ideal for reggae lovers and college students studying music, this encyclopedia is comprehensive for high school students and non-music students as well. From Bob Marley to Wayne Wonder, this easy to use encyclopedia contains over 700 entries. Indices in both the front and back of the book make navigating through entries extremely user-friendly. Entries cover singers and songwriters, producers, record labels, and different styles of music that evolved from reggae. Moskowitz truly captures the history and evolution of Jamaican music in this extensive, illuminating encyclopedia, while all the while making it accessible to both high school and college students.
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
The Caribbean is a part of the world with diverse cultures and a long and fascinating literary tradition. The people of this region have endured through civil strife, poverty, natural disasters, and military conflicts; and their literature reflects their despair and dreams. Accessible to students and general readers, this encyclopedia overviews the lives and works of Caribbean authors. Because Caribbean literature is so much a reflection of regional concerns, the encyclopedia gives special attention to the political, cultural, and historical contexts in which Caribbean authors have lived and worked. To help with this massive endeavor, scholar and librarian Danilo H. Figueredo has assembled an impressive team of advisors and authors. Included in the encyclopedia are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by more than 20 expert contributors. These entries cover authors, works, genres, historical and cultural figures, themes, and various special topics. Spanish courses often look at literature from the Caribbean, and many American students trace their roots to that region. An essential reference for high school libraries, this resource will help students and teachers learn more about the literature of the Caribbean and its relation to the political, economic, historical, and social conditions of that area. Public libraries also need this encyclopedia, since many general readers are interested in Caribbean literature and culture. Presents more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries Accumulates the expertise of a distinguished advisory board and more than 20 expert contributors Provides biographical entries on numerous authors and historical figures Cites print and electronic resources Fully cross-references entries Provides an extensive index Includes a generous selection of illustrations Closes with an extensive bibliography
"From Toussaint L'Ouverture to Pelé, the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography will provide a comprehensive overview of the lives of Caribbeans and Afro-Latin Americans who are historically significant. The project will be unprecedented in scale, covering the entire Caribbean, and the Afro-descended populations throughout Latin America, including people who spoke and wrote Creole, Dutch, English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. It will also encompass the full scope of history, with entries on figures from the first forced slave migrations in the sixteenth centuries, to entries on living persons such as the Haitian musician and politician Wyclef Jean and the Cuban author and poet Nancy Morejón. Individuals will be drawn from all walks of life including philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people whose lives have contributed to the history of the Caribbean and Latin America"--Provided by publisher.