Library Guides: Cross-cultural Learning Resources: Intercultural Resources

Introduction

This resource guide has materials to help you learn about different countries' cultures, languages, demographics, history, religions, and communication norms in preparation for intercultural learning experiences. The list of resources includes current data sources, media, and intercultural learning tools from around the world. There are external links available for students working on intercultural projects and programs, which might be useful for online collaborations or while studying abroad.

World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Resources for the cross-cultural study of human society, culture, and behavior
The Human Relations Area Files are designed to facilitate the cross-cultural study of human society, culture, and behavior. Two HRAF databases are available: Ethnography Collection and Archaeology Collection. They provide full-text access to source material on a wide variety of cultures around the world, as well as a cultural summary and bibliography for each culture covered.
A to Z International Business This link opens in a new window
Country-specific data covering the key aspects of professional and business culture
The A to Z International Business database includes information about business culture and practices in over 100 countries. It also includes up-to-date information on importing, exporting, and logistics. This database is especially useful for students enrolled in International Business courses, Supply Chain Management courses and students participating in global immersion programs.

CIA World Factbook
History, government, economy, energy, geography, and communication information for 266 countries
Via GlobalEdge from Michigan State University
Statistics, history, economy, and political conditions around the world through Michigan State University
What is Culture?
Eva Haug from the Amsterdam University presents an introduction to culture

The Culture Iceberg
The culture iceberg examines visible and invisible features of culture and how these features affect each other

Global News and Current Events

PressReader [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in over 60 languages
PressReader provides a global perspective on the World's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site. Users will gain access to newspapers from within the library, from home and around the world on the day they are published. Researchers will find convenient searching, a traditional 2-page newspaper view, table of contents, article jumps (linking article sections) and easy to read text views. PressDisplay can also provide translations into ten major foreign languages.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Current news, research, and perspectives on a wide variety of international issues
Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, and human rights. Updated daily.

Subject-Focused Resources

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Reports and policy analysis on countries and social issues around the world
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
Global-Regulation This link opens in a new window
Translates laws into English using machine translation from 105 countries
Global-Regulation is the most comprehensive search engine in the world for global laws.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contents include news, cases, law reviews, company information, country information, and publications
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
IMF e-Library This link opens in a new window
IMF (International Monetary Fund)’s periodicals, books, papers, and data
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. Full Text.
World Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world
The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion, to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography.

Country Commercial Guides
Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at US Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department, and other US agencies’ professionals

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy distributes documentaries, independent and world cinema, and classic and award-winning films from a variety of filmmakers, including the Media Education Foundation.
Kanopy distributes documentaries, independent and world cinema, and classic and award-winning films from a variety of filmmakers, including the Media Education Foundation. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries. To find out when the license for a Kanopy video expires, contact the Music and Media Center at musiccenter@psu.edu.