Library Guides: CAS 203: Interpersonal Communication: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Communication - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Communication is where you can look up seminal articles for various communication theories.
Oxford Bibliographies in Communication provides the necessary guidance to students and scholars study of communication. The extensive and ever-changing nature of communication includes multiple epistemologies, methodologies, and overlapping domains. This bibliography includes recent scholarship, research, and statistics.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Communication
Find scholarly articles by subject headings under Communication, or search specific keyword(s).
The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication
The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication presents a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts and processes that interpersonal communication researchers use to explain a wide variety of social interaction phenomena.

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by Stephen W. Littlejohn (Editor); Karen A. Foss (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
[e-book] Source for communication theories and concepts with an overview of the entire field of communication theory
The International Encyclopedia of Communication
Publication Date: 2008 (with updates through 2015)
[e-book] Communications studies with advanced search for images such as figures, tables, photos, videos
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser and P. B. Baltes (co-Editors-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2001
[e-book] Encyclopedia comprised of 4,000 articles by 52 Section Editors, with comprehensive name and subject indexes