"BasArt is intended to include all types of exhibition catalogs, from the invention of catalog (Salon de Paris, 1673) to the present day. This database is georeferenced and time-stamped. It makes it possible to map exhibitions, to trace the circulation of artworks and the exhibitions of artists. It also allows, when the information is available, to link the exhibited works to their location, owners, the birth place of their creator, and to all other types of information provided by the catalogs" (description from the database about page).

The Getty provides access to digital records from its collections pertaining to sales catalogs, dealer stock books, and archival inventories. Search results can be selected and downloaded as a spreadsheet.

The Getty Vocabularies (including the Union List of Artists' Names, Art & Architecture Thesaurus, and the Cultural Objects Name Authority) are available as linked open data, XML, relational tables, and via an API. These resources can be used to improve the quality of research data and can also be a data source for scholarly inquiry.

RKDartists is a freely-available database of biographical data about artists with related information about collectors, art historians, and other people and organizations relevant to the study of art history. The RDF data is available as JSON-LD, N-triples, Turtle, or RDF/XML.

A dataset from RKD-Netherlands Institute for Art History that provides access to machine-readable formats for the ICONCLASS system. Data is available as JSON or SKOS/RDF.

Arthistoricum.net is a research data repository for art historians hosted by the Heidelberg University Library.

Access metadata and images from numerous museums across Europe. There are a number of different options, with access to data as JSON, SPARQL, and linked open data.

CSV files of NGA collection data. Regularly updated and the dataset is licensed CC0.

Access to the metadata for over 61,000 artworks and image access to over 30,000 works. Data is downloadable as JSON or CSV and is also accessible through an API. Data is regularly updated and offered under a CC0 license.

CSV file of museum metadata with over 470,000 items represented. Dataset is regularly updated and made available under a CC0 license.

Download CSV or JSON files with information on artists and artworks. Data is regularly updated and made available under a CC0 license.

CSV file with information about exhibitions held at MoMA from 1929-1989, plus a CSV file with information about MoMA directors and department heads for all curatorial departments starting in 1929 (see description for more detail about department date information), All data released under a CC0 license.

GitHub repository for all of the JSON-LD developed for the Marcel Duchamp Research Portal

These files provided by The Frick Digital Art History Lab comprise two datasets: a conversion of the Montias database of Dutch art inventories into a more computationally-amenable file format; a related dataset of artworks once or currently attributed to Vermeer. Data is in CSV or JSON and the datasets are in the public domain with a CC0 License.

Dataset created as part of a research project on perception of materials in European paintings from 1400-1900. Metadata in CSV and images in zipped files.

Created by Léa Saint-Raymond, this Excel spreadsheet contains "all the Parisian auction sales of paintings, drawings and sculptures that took place in Paris, in 1831, 1850, 1875, 1900 and 1925. This dataset displays the statistics of hammer prices, the main purchasers and a comprehensive study of all the artists whose artworks were sold at auction" (from the dataset description).

Datasets used in Diana Seave Greenwald's _Painting by Numbers: Data-Driven Histories of Nineteenth-Century Art_. All of the data are in Excel spreadsheets.