This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.

"Covers history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, rites of passage, and much more for 533 diverse cultural groups in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Oceania, and Europe"--

This guide provides a reference for anyone seeking information about the predominant and variable cultural forms, mores, and modes of expression in virtually every country. Entries cover many of the elements that together constitute the predominant culture, as well as lost cultures of the world.

Includes separate chapters on death in all major religions

Fourth Edition Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title Praise for the Fourth Edition: "In the fields of death education, research and counseling/psychology, surely Bill Worden is a giant...ALL of us, personally and professionally, are indebted to him]. From his work we may be just a bit wiser, a bit healthier, a bit more competent, and a lot more in touch with meaning for the sake of all who mourn." --Illness, Crisis, & Loss " If] you knew Worden's work and his writings previously, you'll find an enhanced book with a much broader and challenging perspective than his previous editions. If you are not familiar with Bill Worden, then it is time to begin." --Ben Wolfe, MEd, LICSW, Fellow in Thanatology, Program Manager/Grief Counselor, St. Mary's Medical Center's Grief Support Center Duluth, MN Encompassing new content on the treatment of grief, loss, and bereavement, the updated and revised fifth edition of this gold-standard text continues to deliver the most up-to-date research and practical information for upper-level students and practitioners alike. The fifth edition includes updates to the author's Tasks and Mediators of Mourning, new case studies, and valuable Instructor Resources. The text highlights recent initiatives to extend care to the bereaved and fosters the knowledge and skills required for effective intervention and even preventative treatment. Also addressed is the impact of social media and online resources for "cyber mourning," changes in the DSM-5 as they influence bereavement work, alternate models of mourning, and new findings on the varied qualities of grief. The fifth edition continues to present a well-organized, concise format that is easy to read and provides critical information for master's level health courses in grief counseling and grief therapy as well as for new and seasoned practitioners alike. New to the Fifth Edition: Refinements to the author's TASKS of MourningNew considerations regarding Mediators of Mourning on social variablesThe impact of social media and online resources on "cyber mourning"Complicated spiritual grief after mass shootings and other catastrophesChanges in the DSM-5 as they influence bereavement workCross-cultural and multifaceted counseling for specialized grief, including grandparent's grief, prolonged grief disorder, and HIV-AIDS-related bereavementUpdated information on grief and depressionNew case studies and updated referencesIncludes reflection and discussion questions in each chapterUpdated and revised information on grief counseling trainingAccompanying instructor packet with Manual, PowerPoint slides, and Test Bank

For years, I have strongly advised adults to read Grief in Children because I believe it is the most sympathetically written and accessible book on the topic. It is the thoughtful distillation of many years'' clinical experience of working with bereaved children and their families.'' - from the foreword by Professor William Yule Praise for the first edition: ''This is a very user-friendly book. It is presented in a way which enables the reader to browse or go direct to a certain section, but at the same time is engaging enough to sustain one''s interest to read the whole book.'' - Australian Social Work ''Dyregrov''s writing is clear in its description, and explicit in its advice, and demonstrates that the daunting task of helping a child through grief is both manageable and rewarding... The book will, I''m sure, become required reading for all those touched by the care of bereaved children.'' - Bereavement Care ''... a handy, small book ideal for teachers, social workers, counsellors, parents and others faced with the task of understanding children in grief and trying to help them.'' - Association for Child Psychology and Psychiatry Newsletter ''There is valuable material on grief at various ages and development... The question "What makes the grief worse?" is neatly answered and a brief, but useful, section alerts the helper to differences in the grief experienced by boys and girls. The chapters on care for bereaved children are packed with good sense and practical suggestions. Many interesting ideas are given on ways to deal with bereavement in the setting of the classroom. There is much to commend this handbook. It is of manageable length, giving information concisely and supplementing it with well-chosen quotations. A valuable book which I would recommend to my colleagues and to parents, to those who run playgroups and to any who seek to help young people in bereavement.'' - Lifeline (Magazine of the National Association of Bereavement Services) This fully updated second edition of Grief in Children provides an accessible overview of children''s understanding of death at different ages and gives a detailed outline of exactly how the adults around them can best help them cope. Whether a child experiences the death of a parent, sibling, other relation or friend, or of a classmate or teacher, it is important for those caring for bereaved children to know how to respond appropriately to the child''s needs. This book deals with a range of common physical and psychological responses and describes the methods of approaching grief in children that have been shown to work best. The author provides guidance on how loss and bereavement should be handled at school, explains when it is appropriate to involve expert professional help and discusses the value of bereavement groups for children and support for caregivers. Illustrated with case studies and incorporating current research, this book is essential reading for parents, carers, counsellors, teachers and all those concerned with the welfare of bereaved children. Dr Atle Dyregrov is a clinical psychologist and Director of the Center for Crisis Psychology in Bergen, Norway, which he founded with a colleague in 1988. He is a member of the executive board of The Children and War Foundation and a founding member of the European Society for Traumatic Stress Studies. Dr Dyregrov is the author of numerous publications, journal articles, and books. Professor Emeritus William Yule is a clinical psychologist and Professor Emeritus of Applied Child Psychology at the Institute of Psychiatry, King''s College London. He is Chair of the Children and War Foundation and Honorary Psychologist Advisor to the British Army. He was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies in 2005.