Library Guides: Forest Technology (Mont Alto): Forest Technology Resources

Articles

University Libraries Website
Use the FIND box on this page as a way to access a wide variety of source types

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including horticulture, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, mycology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered, with a global perspective. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage is 1935 to present.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered, with a global perspective. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage is 1935 to present.

TreeSearch
US Forest Service publications and research.
Treesearch User Guide

Websites

Tips for searching websites:

Use Google's site command to search specific websites and domains.
- Search only government websites use site:.gov
  - "honey locust" fact sheet site:.gov
- Search only educational institutions' websites use site:.edu
  - "chronic wasting disease" site:.edu
- Search a specific website use the site's URL
  - "forest management" site:nps.gov

Penn State Extension
USDA Forest Service
sustaining the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations
PA Bureau of Forestry
conserving Penn's Woods
Society of American Foresters
the national scientific and educational organization representing the forestry profession in the United States.
Includes information on education and certification, as well as careers.
US Forest Inventory and Analysis National Program
contains reports on status and trends in forest area and location; in the species, size, and health of trees; in total tree growth, mortality, and removals by harvest; in wood production and utilization rates by various products; and in forest land ownership
Forestry Library Guide
for Penn State students and faculty in forest management and forest technology
Soil Surveys
provide soil maps and interpretations needed in guiding decisions about soil selection, use, and management.
Flora of North America
Information on plants of North America above Mexico, also available in print from the Mont Alto library

Books

Try searching for specific species, pests, or concepts in the Libraries catalog (link below).

Print books are located on both the first and second floors of the Mont Alto Library.

General call numbers and subject areas are:

QK – Botany (plant physiology, nutrition, anatomy)
SB – Plant Culture (arboriculture, tree crops, landscaping)
SD – Forestry (sylviculture, dendrology, conservation)

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.