Library Guides: CAS 250: Small Group Communication: Digital Storytelling (1920s)

CAS 250: Theme

The 1920's

The Volstead Act (1919)

The 19th Amendment (1920)

Opening of King Tut's Tomb (1923)

First Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade (1924)

Publication of The Great Gatsby (1925)

Lindbergh's Transatlantic Flight (1927)

St. Valentine's Day Massacre (1929)

Wall Street Stock Market Crash (1929)

CAS 250: Resources for Video Project

Resources for Digital Storytelling Research

Primary Sources

American Decades Primary Sources: 1920-1929 by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
The "Roaring Twenties" was a roaring decade indeed. The passage of the Volstead Act prohibited the sale and consumption of alcohol and spawned a black market network of smuggling and speakeasies. Gangsters like Al Capone captured the public's imagination. Fashionable, fun-loving women wore short skirts and even shorter hair. Business was booming and, for the first time, people were buying on credit. Speculation in the stock market was at an all-time high as a "get rich quick" mentality took hold. The stock market crash closed out the 1920s with a bang.
All American Ads of The 20s by Jim Heimann (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
It was the roaring twenties in America: a singular time in history, a lull between two world wars and the last gas before the nation's descent into the Great Depression. Forging the way into the future like a modern streamliner in a sea of antiquity, advertising in the 20s sought to bring avant-garde into the mainstream -- which it did with great success.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources features multiple collections. Collections to search that will be most useful for researching conspiracies are those in Contemporary Studies (such as U.S. Declassified Documents Online), Legal Studies (such as U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs), and Newspapers and Periodicals (such as the Sunday Times Historical Archives).
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources is Gale's platform featuring a seamless research environment for multiple collections. Starting with Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and Making of Modern Law (MOML) Gale will be incorporating the majority of our primary source collections, including Archives Unbound and the Historical Newspapers Collections, into Artemis Primary Sources, enabling researchers, teachers and students to cross-search these collections and discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
World History in Video (North America) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of selected documentaries from PBS, the BBC, and other educational filmakers covering human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
Streaming video of selected documentaries from PBS, the BBC, and other educational filmakers covering human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
American History in Video (North America) This link opens in a new window
Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest including content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest. Includes selected content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Also includes the entire series of newsreels from Universal. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.

DocsTeach, National Archives
Primary sources from the National Archives, including images and videos, for topics throughout United States History. To find sources related to the 1920s, you can search by topic or by the Emergence of Modern America (1890-1930) historical era.

Secondary Sources

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
Note: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in the library catalog.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

American Decades, 1920-1929 by Judy S. Baughman (Editor)
Publication Date: 1995
This reference documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. There are 10 volumes altogether and each includes: a chronology of the decade; subject chapters with background essays; subject-specific chronologies and alphabetically arranged items depicting the people, ideas, and facts important during that period.
Social History of the United States [10 Volumes] by Daniel J. Walkowitz; Daniel E. Bender (Editors)
Publication Date: 2008
This ten-volume encyclopedia explores the social history of 20th-century America in rich, authoritative detail, decade by decade, through the eyes of its everyday citizens. The 1920s is covered in volume 3.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Scribners Reference Staff
Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience by examining significant individuals and documents.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide. Also included are references to dissertations and books.
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.

Multimedia Sources and Copyright

Multimedia Creation Sources Guidee
Penn State University Libraries' guide for finding media resources for your multimedia project including public domain image and video repositories. Direction on applying copyright, fair use, and creative commons' licenses is also included.
Copyright and Fair Use
Explains Section 107 of the Copyright Act, known as the "Fair Use" clause, with analysis and examples of the four factors, from the Penn State University Libraries' Office of Copyright and Scholarly Communications.
Fair Use Analysis Checklist
Checklist of fair use attributes that is helpful for determining if and how a work can be used in your project, from the Penn State University Libraries' Office of Copyright and Scholarly Communications.
Creative Commons Licenses
Describes the four principles of Creative Commons licenses so you can determine how to use a work in your project, from the Penn State University Libraries' Office of Copyright and Scholarly Communications.