Building Type Basics for College and University Facilities by David J. NeumanEssential information for the design of college and university facilities Building Type Basics for College and University Facilities, Second Edition is your one-stop reference for the essential information you need to confidently begin the planning process and successfully complete the design of college and university buildings, large or small, on time and within budget. Award-winning architect and planner David J. Neuman and a roster of industry-leading contributors share their firsthand knowledge to guide you through all aspects of planning higher education facilities, including learning centers, academic buildings and professional schools, scientific research facilities, housing, athletics and recreation facilities, social and support facilities, and cultural centers. The book combines up-to-date coverage of essential issues related to campus planning, programming, and building design guidelines with detailed project examples. This new edition offers: Numerous photographs, diagrams, plans, and sections Updated project examples, including several buildings completed in the last decade Up-to-date coverage of sustainability and technology issues A new chapter on historic preservation, rehabilitation, and adaptive use of existing buildings New material on the influence of interdepartmental collaboration and renewed communication on the built environment for campuses This conveniently organized quick reference is an invaluable guide for busy, dedicated professionals who want to get educated quickly as they embark on a new project. Like every Building Type Basics book, it provides authoritative, up-to-date information instantly and saves professionals countless hours of research.
Publication Date: 2013-06-13
Campus Landscape by Richard P. DoberA practical guide to creating sites, plans, and designs for the campus landscape Broad lawns, open spaces, wooded groves-the campus landscape is both the seat and symbol of higher education. It also has a growing role to play for institutions seeking toput their best foot forward in pursuit of students and funding. This comprehensive handbook provides information, instruction, and ideas on planning and designing every aspect of the campus landscape, from parking lots to playing fields. Using real-world examples of classic and contemporary campus landscapes, this unique resource features: * Coverage of landscape restoration and regeneration as well as new projects * An assessment matrix for consistent, effective evaluation of existing and proposed plans * More than 175 photographs and drawings of campus landscapes * Detailed captions, citations, and design guidelines for significant features * Coverage of increasingly important areas such as security, maintenance, and the environment
Educating by Design by C. Carney Strange; James H. Banning; Ursula Delworth"A must read for anyone interested in creating educationally sound campus environments. This book provides both a comprehensive review of environmental theory and practical strategies for enhancing student learning." -Nancy J. Evans, associate professor and coordinator, Higher Education Program, Iowa State University "Practitioners and students of all ages will greatly benefit from reading this synthesis of learning environment research and theory. The book draws on an impressively broad array of literature, and yet is organized for practical use." -Will Barratt, associate professor of counseling, Indiana State University Many books explore the effects of environments on people, but there are few that examine the complexities of campus settings and how they contribute to student learning and success. Educating by Design fills the information gap by providing a comprehensive model for creating student-friendly and learning-supportive campus environments. Authors C. Carney Strange and James H. Banning draw from decades of research and experience to present an integrated framework for assessing and understanding academic environments. They describe the key concepts defining effective person-environment interactions and examine how these principles work through four different environmental components: physical, aggregate, organizational, and socially constructed. They also discuss the four conditions for successful learning: inclusion, safety, involvement, and community. Filled with engaging anecdotes and practical examples, this long-awaited volume helps academic administrators and student services professionals to plan effective programs and build supportive learning communities.
Call Number: LB2324.S77 2001
Publication Date: 2000-10-26
Future Campus by Ian Taylor (Editor)This book aims to help architects, design teams and University clients (estates departments, and academics) in their pursuit of practical and innovative solutions for the creation of enabling higher education learning environments. It includes abundant examples of solutions to design problems and advice on best practice. This book argues that investment in the higher education sector is a driver for intellectual, social and economic development, offering opportunities for positive impacts for the physical environment on the character and performance of higher education. The editor believes that good outcomes result from good design, which should address elements such as learning from best current practice, the importance of clear briefing, good environmental performance, the positive social impacts and, also, the importance of ensuring a beautiful outcome. It has chapters contributed from leading-edge practices, including case studies with highly illustrated project examples. All this is underpinned by an understanding of the practicalities of working in the sector as well as the socio-political and economic context and trends shaping future practice.
Call Number: NA6600.F88 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-21
Mission and Place by Daniel R. Kenney; Ricardo Dumont; Ginger S. KenneyHaving worked for over 60 colleges and universities and visited hundreds more in careers as institutional planners and designers, the authors have found that in most cases, the physical campus mirrors the issues an institution faces. Mission and Place shows how institutions of higher education can provide leadership in addressing important strategic issues through campus design and planning and how at the same time they can create an enduring legacy. It presents a visionary mission-based framework that the trustees, presidents, and senior administrators of today's colleges and universities, and their design and planning consultants, can use in overall campus planning and design decisions; and it focuses this vision with specific actions that can be undertaken at all levels of institutional governance and administration.
Call Number: LB3218.A1K46 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-30
The New American College Town by James Martin (Editor); James E. Samels (Editor)A new perspective on the relationships among colleges, universities, and the communities with which they are now partnering. Colleges and universities have always had interesting relationships with their external communities, whether they are cities, towns, or something in between. In many cases, they are the main economic driver for their regions--State College, Pennsylvania, or Raleigh, North Carolina, for example--and in others, they exist side by side with thriving industries. In The New American College Town, James Martin, James E. Samels & Associates provide a practical guide for planning a new kind of American college town--one that moves beyond the nostalgia-tinged stereotype to achieve collaborative objectives. What exactly is a college town in America today? Examining the broad range of partnerships transforming campuses and the communities around them, the book opens by detailing twenty characteristics of new American college towns. Subsequent chapters invite presidents, provosts, planners, mayors, architects, and association directors to share their views on how college town relationships are shaping new generations of students and citizens. The book tackles urban and rural institutions, as well as community colleges, and closes with predictions about what college towns will look like in twenty-five years. Contributors include presidents from Lehigh, Portland State, New Jersey City, and Connecticut College, along with five college town mayors and the current or former executive directors from the International Town-Gown Association, the Association for the Study of Higher Education, and others. The book also traces how town-gown relations are expanding into innovative areas nationally and internationally, moving beyond familiar student life programs and services to hundred-million-dollar downtown developments. The first comprehensive, single-volume resource designed for leaders on both sides of these conversations, The New American College Town includes action plans, lessons learned, and pitfalls to avoid in developing transformative relationships between colleges and their extended communities. Contributors: Robert C. Andringa, Aaron Aska, Beth Bagwell, Katherine Bergeron, Kelly A. Cherwin, Phillip DiChiara, Lorin Ditzler, Mauri A. Ditzler, Kevin E. Drumm, Erin Flynn, Michael Fox, Joel Garreau, Susan Henderson, Andrew W. Hibel, Patrick Hyland, Jr., Jay Kahn, James Martin, Miguel Martinez-Saenz, Fred McGrail, Kim Nehls, Krisan Osterby, Tracee Reiser, Stuart Rothenberger, Kate Rousmaniere, James E. Samels, Rick Seltzer, John D. Simon, Jefferson A. Singer, Allison Starer, Wim Wiewel, Eugene L. Zdziarski II
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
The Nine Elements of a Sustainable Campus by Mitchell Thomashow; Anthony Cortese (Afterword by)A former college president offers a framework for sustainability on campus, describing initiatives that range from renewable energy to a revamped curriculum to sustainable investment. Colleges and universities offer our best hope for raising awareness about the climate crisis and the other environmental threats. But most college and university administrations need guidance on the path to sustainability. In The Nine Elements of a Sustainable Campus, Mitchell Thomashow, a former college president, provides just that. Drawing on his experiences at Unity College in Maine, he identifies nine elements for a sustainability agenda: energy, food, and materials (aspects of infrastructure); governance, investment, and wellness (aspects of community); and curriculum, interpretation, and aesthetics (aspects of learning). He then describes how Unity put these elements into practice. Connecting his experiences to broader concerns, Thomashow links the campus to the planet, reminding us that local efforts, taken together, can have a global impact.
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
On Campus by Robert A. M. SternAt its best, the college campus is the representation of beliefs, of the specific character of a place, of a community, of an institution. It is the setting for the continually evolving interaction of people and ideas over time.nbsp; --Robert A. M. Stern Ss an architect, educator, andnbsp;architectural historian, Robert A. M. Stern brings special knowledge and expertise to issues of campus master planning and the design of academic buildings. This unique volume collects more than fifty projects by the firm for the most prestigious institutions in America--Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, Georgetown, Stanford, University of Virginia--and focuses on the importance of the historic character of the place in charting the future.nbsp; In surveying the American campus, Stern begins with Thomas Jefferson's Academical Village at the University of Virginia and then considers its many heirs. He organizes campuses into three principal paradigms: the Embedded Campus, those closely connected with the fabric of the cities and towns in which they sit; the Citadel Campus, those perched above and removed from the surroundings; and the Garden Campus, those whose buildings sit in a more casual configuration in the landscape. Each campus is described in detail, with historic photographs and campus plans illustrating its development. Projects by Robert A. M. Stern Architects are placed in their context, providing a complete view of these distinguished places of learning.
Call Number: NA737.S64A4 2010 Q
Publication Date: 2010-12-21
Sustainability on Campus by Peggy F. Barlett (Editor); Geoffrey W. Chase (Editor)These personal narratives of greening college campuses offer inspiration, motivation, and practical advice. Written by faculty, staff, administrators, and a student, from varying perspectives and reflecting divergent experiences, these stories also map the growing strength of a national movement toward environmental responsibility on campus. Environmental awareness on college and university campuses began with the celebratory consciousness-raising of Earth Day, 1970. Since then environmental action on campus has been both global (in research and policy formation) and local (in efforts to make specific environmental improvements on campuses). The stories in this book show that achieving environmental sustainability is not a matter of applying the formulas of risk management or engineering technology but part of what the editors call "the messy reality of participatory engagement in cultural transformation." In Sustainability on Campuscampus leaders recount inspiring stories of strategies that moved eighteen colleges and universities toward a more sustainable future. This book is for faculty, students, administrators, staff, and community partners, whether hesitant or committed, knowledgeable or newcomer. Scholars and activists have recognized the crucial role that higher education can play in the sustainability effort, and each chapter in the book is full of ideas about how to get started, revitalize efforts, and overcome roadblocks. Human and at times joyful, these stories illustrate many forms of leadership, in new courses and faculty development, green buildings and administrative policies, student programs, residential life, and collaborations with local communities.
Call Number: LB3223.3.S89 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Towards Creative Learning Spaces by Jos BoysThis book offers new ways of investigating relationships between learning and the spaces in which it takes place. It suggests that we need to understand more about the distinctiveness of teaching and learning in post-compulsory education, and what it is that matters about the design of its spaces. Starting from contemporary educational and architectural theories, it suggests alternative conceptual frameworks and methods that can help map the social and spatial practices of education in universities and colleges; so as to enhance the architecture of post-compulsory education.
Publication Date: 2011-01-13
University Architecture by Brian EdwardsSome of the most exciting architecture in the world can be found on university campuses. In Europe, America and the Far East, vice chancellors and their architects have, over several centuries, produced an extraordinary range of innovative buildings. This book has been written to highlight the importance of university architecture. It is intended as a guide to designers, to those who manage the estate we call the campus, and as an inspiration to students and academic staff. With nearly 40 per cent of school leavers attending university, the campus can influence the outlook of tomorrow's decision makers to the benefit of architecture and society at large.
Call Number: NA6600.E34 2000
Publication Date: 2001-03-02
University Builders by Martin PearceThe building of a university campus is an extremely challenging you an extensive study of a variety of styles of universities from around the world. This excellent reference portrays expert architects and their work in designing outstanding educational establishments. Full of impressive colour and black and white images Features the most influential architects of this century The range of styles and philosophies covered in this book will prove an indispensable reference in assisting you with planning and designing architecture of the learning environment. Expert architects showcase their work including: Foster Partners - Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, UK Henri Gaudin - Amiens, France Antoine Predock - UCSC, California, USA Stirling Wilford - Temasek Polytechnic, Singapore John Outram, Rice University, Texas, USA Eduardo Souta de Moura - Aveiro University, Portugal Michael Hopkins - Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge, UK
Call Number: NA6600.P38 2001 Q
Publication Date: 2001-07-06
University Planning and Architecture by Jonathan Coulson; Paul Roberts; Isabelle TaylorThe environment of a university - what we term a campus - has long been the setting for some of history's most exciting experiments in the design of the built environment. Christopher Wren at Cambridge, Thomas Jefferson at Virginia, Le Corbusier at Harvard, Louis Kahn at Yale and Norman Foster in Berlin: the calibre of practitioners that have worked for universities is astounding. This book comprehensively documents the worldwide evolution of university design from the Middle Ages to the present day, uncovering the key developments which have shaken the world of campus planning. A series of detailed and highly illustrated case-studies profile universally acclaimed campuses that, through their planning, architecture and landscaping, have succeeded in making positive contributions to the field. Drawing on these examples, the book turns to the strategies behind campus planning in today's climate. Exploring the importance of themes such as landscape, architecture, place-making and sustainability within university development, the book consolidates the lessons learnt from the rich tradition of campus development to provide a 'good practice guide' for anyone concerned with planning environments for higher education
Call Number: NA6600.C68 2011 Q
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
University Trends: Contemporary Campus Design by Jonathan Coulson; Paul Roberts; Isabelle TaylorA university campus is a place with special resonance: conjuring images of cloistered quadrangles and wood-panelled libraries, often echoing centuries of scholarly tradition. And yet it is also a place of cutting-edge science, interactive learning, youth, vibrancy, and energy. It is this dual nature which makes the physical environment of a university so dynamic as well as a highly challenging landscape to design and manage successfully. Today, the scale of the pressures and the rate of change facing higher education institutions are greater than ever.¿ Squeezed public spending, rising tuition fees and the growing education ambitions of developing nations are set against a backdrop of rapid technological progress and changing pedagogies. What are the repercussions for the physical realities of university planning and architecture? And how are university campuses adapting to contend with these pressures? University Trends introduces the most significant, widespread and thought-provoking trends in campus design today. Part 1 identifies current trends such as starchitecture, large-scale campus extensions, adaptive re-use, and international branch campuses. Part 2 profiles each trend via highly-illustrated, global case studies of well-publicised as well as lesser-known projects. The essential guide to current and future trends in campus design.