Provides commentary and analysis of ideas, research, and current events. Weekly feature articles are based on scholarly research. Also includes daily blog posts that provide the backstory to complex issues of the day.
A weekly online magazine on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Research and background information on social issues.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
Who is the author (may be individual or organization) and/or publisher?
What are the credentials and affiliation or sponsorship of any named individuals or organizations?
How objective, reliable, and authoritative are they?
Have they written other articles or books?
Is/Are the author(s) listed with contact information (street address, e-mail)?
Do they specialize in publishing certain topics or fields?
Purpose/Point of view of source
Does the author have an agenda beyond education or information?
Are any conclusions offered? If so, based on what evidence and supported by what primary and secondary documentation?
What is implied by the content?
Are diverse perspectives represented?
Is the content relevant to your information needs?
Why was the information provided by the source published?
Who is the intended audience?
Is anything being sold?
Does the publisher have an agenda?
When was the information published?
Is the information provided by the source in its original form or has it been revised to reflect changes in knowledge?
Has the publisher published other works?
Is this information timely and is it updated regularly?
Is the publisher scholarly (university press, scholarly associations)? Commercial? Government agency? Self (“vanity”) press?
List of resources
Where else can the information provided by the source be found?
Is this information authentic?
Is this information unique or has it been copied?
Year of publication
Is this information current? Can you find more current or relevant information?
Is the cited information current? Make sure work is not based on outdated research, statistics, data, etc.