Library Guides: CAS 100A: Effective Speech (McGrath): Home

General Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly research on all types of topics
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

NewsBank
Check the Quick Links on the right side of the page for Special Reports and Hot Topics

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
in-depth coverage of important current event issues
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Use this to find background information on ANY topic!
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Background information on social issues from a variety of types of sources.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
ProQuest - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Search across the largest daily newspapers in the U.S.
Includes five major daily newspapers; The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune. The only database to provide recent years of the LA Times and Chicago Tribune. Titles can be searched individually or collectively.

Subject Guides A-Z
Use the links from this page to browse resources in your chosen topic area

Citing Your Work

MLA Quick Citation Guide
Penn State guide for MLA references with examples.
APA Quick Citation Guide
Penn State guide for APA references with examples.

Search for Books

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
Use the CAT to find books. Search by title, author, or keyword.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Use the Browse function if you are looking for a specific title or author (type last name first).
Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it.
For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text

You can also find books via

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.