Helpful science / biology publications

Finding reliable, non-scholarly scientific information can be difficult. Knowing where to start can be a huge help in conducting research when you are a novice. Below are several popular, reputable science publications that can be helpful for staying up to date and developing topics! These sources will be easier to understand than scholarly articles while still providing you with authoritative information.

American Scientist    print available in Thun Library's First Draft Collection

• Publication covering science, engineering, & technology. Browse the website for 'Biology', 'Medicine', & 'Environment' articles (full text access through PSU Libraries).

New Scientist    print available in Thun Library's First Draft Collection

• International news from a scientific standpoint. Browse the website for 'Health', 'Life' and 'Environment' articles (full text access through PSU Libraries).

Popular Science   print available in Thun Library's First Draft Collection

• Science reporting & tech news. Browse the 'Health' and 'Environment' topics on the website (full text access through PSU Libraries).

Science News   print available in Thun Library's First Draft Collection

• Find the latest news of science, medicine and technology. See the 'Life' topic for resources.

Scientific American    print available in Thun Library's First Draft Collection

• Covers advances in research and discovery. Browse the 'Health' & 'Environment' topics.

Wired    print available in Thun Library's First Draft Collection

• Monthly magazine focusing on emerging technologies but also includes science news.

Helpful Databases

Evaluating science reporting