Skip to Main Content

Behrend Library Visitors

Information for individuals who plan to visit and use the Lilley Library at Penn State Erie, the Behrend College

Borrow Physical Items

  • PA residents can visit any PSU library location to register for a resident borrower card (an actual card) by presenting a valid photo ID (e.g. state ID or Driver’s License). This card allows you to borrow items from any PSU library. For more information visit https://libraries.psu.edu/services/borrow-renew
  • Resident borrowers can borrow up to 100 items for 28 days at a time and may renew most materials three times.

Penn State Limited Account (online)

  • To register for an online Penn State Account, visit accounts.psu.edu

  • This online account, among other things, will allow you to…
    • Manage your library account to view the list of items you are currently borrowing and renew and place holds on items (i.e. request items) that are found in the library’s catalog at other PSU libraries. To manage your library account, visit libraries.psu.edu and click on “My Account” at the top of the page. The catalog is a searchable tool that allows you to view items owned by PSU libraries (visit libraries.psu.edu and click on “Search the Catalog”).
    • Access to a limited selection of databases/electronic content on PSU library computers only. These databases provide access to subscription-based online articles and other content, typically useful for library research. In order to access these databases, you must use a PSU library computer
    • Access Microsoft Office and other applications loaded on computers.

Services, Spaces, and Collections

  • Research Assistance - There are 5 librarians available throughout the year, to help patrons with research projects and assignments. We are able to meet with patrons individually, in a group, in-person, and online. Patrons can schedule an appointment with a Behrend librarian at tinyurl.com/BehrendLibrarians or outside of business hours, patrons can get assistance from library employees across Penn State via Ask a Librarian (chat, e-mail, call, text) at http://ask.libraries.psu.edu. If using Ask a Librarian, please be sure to mention that you are not a Penn State student.

  • Study Spaces - The Lilley Library has three floors featuring a variety of study spaces including collaborative tables, study carrels, classrooms, and individual and group study rooms, some include whiteboards, chalkboards, and TV monitors for screen sharing. When classrooms are not in use, patrons may use the room as study space.
  • Computers and WiFi
    • Computers are located throughout the library and across campus. There is a computer lab located on the bottom floor of the library. Files created may be saved locally or on removable storage like flash drives. Files saved locally will be accessible the next time users log into any PSU workstation.
    • WiFi - Visitors to campus can access Penn State's free guest wireless service. It is accessible via any device’s wireless networks menu. After selecting “psu-guest”, a welcome screen appears. Visitors need to click the Accept and Connect button to connect to the guest wireless network.
  • Printers and Scanners
    • Printing is unavailable with a PSU Limited Account. Visitors wishing to print research related materials should be referred to the library supervisor or director.
    • The Lilley Library has a scanner located on the main floor of the library that is capable of scanning multiple book pages into one file that can be emailed or saved on a removable storage device, like a flash drive.
  • Collections - The Lilley Library has a large collection of academic and popular fiction and non-fiction books, circulating board games, video games, audiobooks, a large DVD collection, and an archive. Borrowers can also borrow items from any of the PSU libraries and get them shipped (no additional charge) to the Lilley Library. There are many recent editions of popular textbooks located throughout the PSU libraries. Some newer textbooks may not be available. The Penn State Behrend Archives features collections focused on the Hammermill Paper Company, the Behrend family, and the college's history.
  • The PSU libraries “How-To Guides” contain useful information related to using the PSU libraries and conducting library research. Some of the most useful guides are the MLA and APA citation guides. https://libraries.psu.edu/guides/howto

Parking

The closest visitor parking lots are the Reed, Erie, and Jordan Road Lots. The Lilley Library is located adjacent to the Kochel Center building, near Jordan Rd. Visitors must obtain a visitor parking pass, at no charge. For the campus map and for more information on parking passes, visit https://behrend.psu.edu/general-services/parking/visitor-parking