General databases
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window(Penn State Faculty, staff and students only). With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States, UK, and Canadian censuses, beginning in the 18th and 19th century; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
- Ancestry.com (Public version)Ancestry.com contains billions of genealogical records, including census, birth, death, marriage, and military records. Perhaps the most extensive genealogical database tool available, however, requires a monthly subscription for individuals. Many public libraries have subscriptions available onsite.
- Family SearchThe web site of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah is the world's largest repository of genealogy records. Materials from the Utah collection can be requested on loan from the closest Family History Center. The Family Search web site has a directory of the Family History Centers.
Local history websites
- Anthracite Miner"A tribute to Pennsylvania's Anthracite Miners." Personal blog/website of resident of Zerbe, Pennsylvania. Link to archived website at Internet Archive from 2016.
- Coal CrackerCoal Cracker is a print & online youth-led media outlet based in Mahanoy City, PA for children ages 12-18. It is a project of Heron's Eye Communications, with start-up funding from the non-profit local news support organization, the Community Reporting Alliance. Young Coal Cracker journalists meet at the Mahanoy City Public Library.
- Coal RegionCoalRegion.com provides a venue in which current and former anthracite coal region residents can reminisce and pass on the unique heritage of the Coal Region. It serves as an archive for the more personal aspects of the region's culture.
- Lansford Alive!Lansford Alive! is a 501-c3 non-profit organization dedicated to improving Lansford, PA.
- Mt. Carmel, PennsylvaniaCreated by Jeff Kanezo. Contains a walking tour map. Includes information about surrounding patch towns and collieries, such as Reliance.
- The Origins of Town Names in Northeast PACompiled by Mike O'Hara, this site, though it has few citations, contains a fairly comprehensive list of place names in Northeastern Pennsylvania, and their origins. Link to an archived version of the site from 2018.
- Schuylkill County PAGenWebGenealogy site focused on Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania.
- Shamokin HistoryBrief history written by Garth Hall, Shamokin Historian
- Wiggans PatchCreated by Loretta Murphy. Includes information about the Wiggans Patch Massacre and the Ballad of the O'Donnell House
Mining Disasters
"Injured Being Treated in Mine Hospital" by Janet Lindenmuth under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0.
- Mining DisastersThe National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) maintains list chronological listing of major mining incidents for the United States. Chart lists date, mine name, city, state, number killed, mining sector (coal, limestone, etc.) and type of accident (explosion, fire, etc.). NIOSH also has data and charts related to mining injuries.
- MSHA Fatality StatisticsThe Mine Safety and Health Administration maintains list page with annual data by state and by mining sector.
- Mine DisastersShort book, published in 2000, with a timeline of legislation and lists of major disasters in various mines in the U.S.
- Mine Accident Index from the Gerald E. Sherard CollectionA compilation of names of people killed or injured in mines, mostly in the U.S.
Coal Mines
- Historical Summary of Coal-Mine Explosions in the United States, 1810-1958Bureau of Mines Bulletin 586 (1960). Entries are listed in date order. 280 p.
- Historical Summary of Coal Mine Explosions in the United States, 1959-81Bureau of Mines Information circular 8909.
- Historical Summary of Coal Mine Explosions in the United States, 1981-1994Bureau of Mines Information circular 9440
- Coal-Mine Fatalities in the United States, 1870-1914Bureau of Mines Bulletin 115. This historical summary focuses on fatalities, arranged by state.
- Historical Summary of Mine Disasters in the United States, Volume II, Coal Mines, 1959-1998 (MSHA)(not online) This volume covers coal mine disasters and consists of three previously published Bureau of Mines reports (IC 8909, IC 9440, and Bulletin 616) plus a supplement covering 1958-1998.
Non-Coal Mines
- Major Disasters at Metal and Nonmetal Mines and Quarries in the United States (Excluding Coal Mines), 1885-1943Bureau of Mines Information Circular 7493
- Historical Summary of Mine Disasters in the United States, Volume III, Metal and Nonmetal Mines, 1885-1998 (MSHA)Consists of U.S. Bureau of Mines Information Circular 7493 plus supplement documenting metal/non-metal mine disasters from 1943-1998.
Old newspapers are a good source of information on older mining events. Try these sources:
- Chronicling American: Historic American NewspapersAmerica's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new windowfeatures the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
- SmallTownPapersA collection of newspaper from around the U.S.