Library Guides: SOC 01: Introduction to Sociology: Finding Sources

Finding Media Sources

Library Resources for Popular Media

The libraries have a number of database where you can access full text articles from popular media sources, without the pay wall, or article restrictions.

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that contains a wide range of popular and scholarly sources.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Nexis Uni - News Sources This link opens in a new window
Access to new sources from throughout the world
This link allows you to limit your search to Nexis Uni’s news collection, without the law and business collections mixed in. If you want to search the entire Nexis Uni collection (including law and business), select the “Nexis Uni” link instead.
ProQuest - U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to top new titles like the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content going back to the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Access World News: America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
Full text access to local, regional and national magazines.
America's News Magazines (NewsBank) provides full-text articles from leading magazines that provide coverage and analysis of current events in a range of categories including: news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports. One easy-to-search interface is used for all titles. Paid advertisements are excluded.
PressReader [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new window
Access to approx 50000 newspapers and magazines from across the globe.
PressReader provides a global perspective on the World's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site. Users will gain access to newspapers from within the library, from home and around the world on the day they are published. Researchers will find convenient searching, a traditional 2-page newspaper view, table of contents, article jumps (linking article sections) and easy to read text views. PressDisplay can also provide translations into ten major foreign languages.
ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
Another database that contains a variety of sources covering a number of different disciplines and formats.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.

Free Digital Access: New York Times and Wall Street Journal
Through the Student Affairs office, Penn State University provides its students free access to these major newspapers. Directions for signing up are at this site.
E-Journal Search
Looking for a particular newspaper or Magazine? You can use the search box at the top of the screen to see if we have full text access to that title.

Library Resources for Scholarly Media

Scholarly material goes beyond primary research articles. You can find editorials, essays book reviews and other types of information in scholarly sources. Below are our library database that best represent this variety. Most have filters/limiters that allow you to sort by type of media.

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Along with a wide range of popular and scholarly journals, this database also contains "trade journals" which bridge the gap between the two.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archival database, so it often doesn't contain the most recent articles. However it is a great resource for book reviews.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of source types covering multiple disciplines.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.

Futurity: Research News from Top Universities
Futurities collects new releases from major universities world-wide. The articles report on research done by academics at these institutions.

Citing your Media Sources

Citing media sources (especially videos or online articles) can be a little more tricky than traditional books or scholarly journal articles. The resources below will help you cite your sources correctly in either APA or MLA.

APA Quick Citation Guide
Penn State guide for APA references with examples.
MLA Quick Citation Guide
Penn State guide for MLA references with examples.
APA Style: Reference Examples
From the American Psychological Association. Look at their examples for Audiovisual Media and Online Media.
Citing and referencing: APA 7th
From Monash University Library. Provides extensive examples for websites, social media, and AV sources.

Penn State University Libraries

SOC 01: Introduction to Sociology

Librarian

Finding Media Sources

Library Resources for Popular Media

Library Resources for Scholarly Media

Citing your Media Sources